2018 ESRI Canada Scholarship Award

ESRI Canada with the help of the Geographic, Statistical and Government Information Centre (GSG) would like to recognize an emerging undergraduate or Masters student using geographic information systems (GIS) at the University of Ottawa. This scholarship will encourage the student to pursue studies and a potential career in GIS.

The following FAQ has been created to answer potential candidates' questions in regards to the Esri Canada GIS Scholarship Award.

 

1: What does the scholarship offer?
A: The scholarship offers a one-time payment of $1,500. It also offers software, books, access to e-learning courses through the Esri Training site, two instructor-led training courses, a complimentary registration for one of Esri Canada's User Conferences in 2018 and a personal and editable profile in the Esri Canada GIS Scholarship Web Portal. The prize winning poster (see questions 5 and 6) will also be displayed for a full year at the GSG Centre, after which it will be added to the Library’s map collection.

2: What software is included?
A: You will receive a perpetual license of Esri’s ArcGIS software, for education and research use:

  • ArcGIS for Desktop Advanced Single Use
  • ArcGIS for Desktop Single Use Extensions:
    • ArcGIS Spatial Analyst
    • ArcGIS 3D Analyst
    • ArcGIS Geostatistical Analyst
    • ArcGIS Network Analyst
    • ArcGIS Publisher
  • A one-year ArcGIS Online Organization subscription (includes 100 service credits and 1 named user)
  • One year of maintenance (provides technical support, software updates and unlimited access to e-learning courses through the Esri Training site)
  • One year professional-level ArcGIS Developer Subscription, which includes ArcGIS Enterprise for development purposes and Esri CityEngine.

3: What books are included? 

A: The following three Esri Press books will be provided as part of the award:

  • Python Scripting for ArcGIS
  • Getting to Know Web GIS
  • The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis

4: Can you provide more information about the Esri Training Site?
A: The Esri Training site provides a single, searchable catalogue of learning resources in different formats including Esri Press books, web courses, SpatialLABS and MOOCs. Certain resources are freely available or simply require an ArcGIS Online account.

Unlimited access to all e-learning content, such as self-paced web courses previously available through Esri’s Virtual Campus, is provided through a current maintenance subscription. One year of maintenance is included in the scholarship award.

5: What documents must be submitted with my application?
A: The following criteria must be submitted in digital format:

  • Resume / CV
  • Copy of academic transcript (minimum B+ average in overall GPA - only winner will require official transcript)
  • A poster demonstrating a special project, lab work, or interesting research in a specific setting (i.e. promoting education, conservation, disaster response, urban planning, business, engineering, social science, et cetera) and its outcomes using Esri's ArcGIS software as the focus of the work.

6: What are the additional requirements for the scholarship recipient?
A: You must submit to Esri Canada a poster and a report demonstrating a special project, lab work, or interesting research use in a specific setting (e.g. promoting education, conservation, disaster response, urban planning, business, engineering, social science, etc.) and its outcomes using Esri’s ArcGIS software. The dimensions must be 24 in (w) by 36 in (h), portrait orientation. All graphics should be of high enough quality for printing at this size (300 dpi is recommended). The preferred file format for poster submissions is portable document format (.pdf), however Microsoft PowerPoint (.pptx), jpeg and tiff formats are also acceptable. The file size should not exceed 10 MB. Additional Guidelines for Poster Submission

7: What additional benefits are there to the program?
A: As a scholarship recipient you are invited to apply to Esri Canada's Associate GIS Professional Program.

8: What is the deadline for submitting an application?
A: Posters and supporting documentation (transcript: non-official is ok, only winner will require official transcript) can be submitted on or before March 1st, 2018 and in digital format only directly to:

Joël Rivard
Joel.Rivard@uottawa.ca

GIS and Geography Librarian
Geographic, Statistical and Government Information Centre (GSG), Room 309E Morisset Library
University of Ottawa
65 University Pvt.
Ottawa, ON K1N 6N5
http://biblio.uottawa.ca/en/gsg-centre

9: Who do I contact if I have more questions?
A:: Contact us at gsg@uottawa.ca

Back to top

Bourse d'études de ESRI Canada 2018

ESRI Canada et le Centre d'information géographique, statistique et gouvernementale (GSG) aimeraient reconnaître un étudiant de premier cycle ou à la maîtrise en début de formation qui utilise des systèmes d'information géographique (SIG) à l'Université d'Ottawa.  Cette bourse a pour but d'encourager un étudiant à poursuivre ses études et peut-être une carrière en SIG.

Le présent FAQ a été conçu pour répondre aux questions concernant le programme de bourse en SIG Esri Canada.

 

1: Qu'offre le programme?
R: Le programme accorde une bourse de 1,500$ en un seul versement à l'étudiant qui a été sélectionné. Il prévoit également des prix, tels que des logiciels, des livres et l'accès aux cours en ligne offerts sur le site web de formation d'Esri, deux séances de formation animée par un instructeur, une inscription gratuite à l'une des conférences régionales des utilisateurs d'Esri Canada qui auront lieu en 2018 ainsi qu'un profile personnel et modifiable dans le portail web de la bourse d'étude en SIG d'Esri Canada. L'affiche gagnante (voir questions 5 et 6) sera également affichée au Centre GSG pour une année complète, après quoi elle sera ajoutée à la collection cartographique de la bibliothèque. 

2: Quels sont les logiciels inclus?
R:Vous recevrez une licence perpétuelle du logiciel ArcGIS d'Esri pour un usage pédagogique et/ou de recherche:

  • ArcGIS for Desktop Advanced Single Use
  • ArcGIS for Desktop Single Use Extensions:
    • ArcGIS Spatial Analyst
    • ArcGIS 3D Analyst
    • ArcGIS Geostatistical Analyst
    • ArcGIS Network Analyst
    • ArcGIS Publisher
  • Plan organisationnel d’ArcGIS Online qui est bon pour un an (inclut 100 crédits de service et un utilisateur nommé)
  • Un an d'entretien gratuit (fournit mises à jour du logiciel, soutien technique et accès illimité à la formation en ligne sur le site web de formation d'Esri)
  • Abonnement à Esri Developer Network (EDN) pour un an, incluant ArcGIS for Server Enterprise à des fins de développement et Esri CityEngine.

3: Quels sont les livres inclus? 

R: Les livres suivants sont offerts dans le cadre du programme:

  • Python Scripting for ArcGIS
  • Getting to Know Web GIS
  • The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis

4: Qu'offre la formation virtuelle en ligne?
R:Le site Esri Training fournit un catalogue consultable des ressources dans différents formats, y compris les livres de Esri Press, les cours auto-formation en ligne, les leçons SpatiaLABS et les MOOCs (cours en ligne ouvert à tous). Certaines ressources sont disponibles gratuitement ou simplement besoin d’un compte ArcGIS Online.

Un accès illimité à toutes les ressources d’apprentissage en ligne, telles que les cours auto-formation qui se trouvait sur Esri Virtual Campus, est inclus dans le programme d’entretien de logiciel. La bourse d’études comprend un abonnement d’un an au programme d’entretien de logiciel.

5: Commen t l'étudiant doit-il poser sa candidature au programme de bourses d'études?
R: Les documents suivants doivent être soumis en format numérique:

  • Résumé / CV
  • Relevé de notes universitaire (avec une moyenne cumulative d'au moins un B+, seulement le gagnant devra soumettre un relevé de notes officiel)
  • Soumettre une affiche qui décrit un projet spécial, un laboratoire ou une recherche qui est d'intérêt particulier à l'utilisation des SIG et qui utilise le logiciel ArcGIS d'ESRI (éducation, conservation, réponses aux catastrophes naturelles, planification urbaine, commerce, ingénierie, sciences sociales, etc.)

6: Y a-t-il des exigences supplémentaires pour le récipiendaire?
R: Chaque récipiendaire doit soumettre une affiche et un rapport démontrant un projet spécial, un travail de laboratoire, ou des recherches intéressantes effectué dans un contexte précis (par exemple, la promotion de l’éducation, la protection de l’environnement, l’intervention en cas de catastrophe, l’urbanisme, les affaires, l’ingénierie ou les sciences sociales, entre autres), ainsi que les résultats. L’utilisation du logiciel ArcGIS d’Esri doit être au cœur du travail. Les dimensions doivent être de 121,92 cm (hauteur) par 91,44 cm (largeur) (36 po x 24 po), orientation portrait. Tous les graphiques doivent être de qualité suffisante pour l’impression de cette taille (300 dpi est recommandé). Les affiches devraient être soumises en format de document portable (PDF). Les formats Microsoft PowerPoint (.pptx), JPEG ou TIFF sont aussi acceptables. La taille du fichier ne devrait pas être plus que 10 MB. Directives supplémentaires pour la soumission d'affiches (anglais seulement)

7: Quels sont les avantages additionnels au programme de bourse?
R: Comme récipiendaire de la bourse, ESRI Canada vous invite à appliquer au Programme Associate GIS Professional d'ESRI Canada.

8: Quelle est la date limite pour soumettre une candidature?
R: Les affiches et les documents supportant la candidature (relevé de notes non-officiel est correct, seulement le gagnant devra soumettre un relevé officiel) doivent être soumis en format numérique au plus tard le 1er mars 2018 directement à:

Joël Rivard
Joel.Rivard@uottawa.ca

Bibliothécaire spécialisée en géographie et SIG
Centre d’information géographique, statistique et gouvernementale (GSG), Salle 309E
Bibliothèque Morisset
Université d'Ottawa
65, rue Université
Ottawa, ON K1N 6N5
http://biblio.uottawa.ca/fr/centre-gsg

9: Qui doit-on joindre pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements?
R:: Veuillez nous contacter à gsg@uottawa.ca

Haut de page