Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Eleanor Silver Keeping (Dowding)

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
Fonds 309
STEM Field: 
Mycology
Botany
Genetics
Description: 

Correspondence 1933-1964 Personal; professional associations; colleagues; Elizabeth Sterling Haynes. Memorabilia 1930-1973 Includes John Keeping's writings; newsclippings; souvenirs of mycological and botanical conferences. Photographs 1930-1975 Personal and professional activities, including family; social events; Edmonton theatre groups; travels; conferences (ca. 225 images). Programs 1926-1977 Fine and performing arts in Edmonton; University events; Alpine Club of Canada. Publications (professional) 1940-1973 Research [1930-1973] Includes notes; drawings; photographs; transparencies, microscope and specimen slides. Scrapbooks 1936-1940 Records of trips taken in conjunction with professional congresses in Europe, the United States and Canada. Writings (non-professional) [1929 }-1983 Essays; speeches; published articles.

Biography/Administrative History: 

A graduate of the University, Dr. Keeping lectured in Botany,1924-1926, worked as the first medical mycologist at the Provincial Laboratory of Public Health from 1933 to 1954 and acted as a research associate in the Departments of Bacteriology, 1954-1957, Botany, 1958-1961, and Genetics, 1962-1964. In 1964 she was named an Honorary Research Associate in Genetics. With her husband, Dr. Frank Keeping, Dr. Silver Keeping was active in the arts in Edmonton, especially the theatre groups.

Date(s): 
1926-1983
Extent: 
12.66 m of multimedia records
Province: 
AB
Hosting Institution: 
University of Alberta
Collection Contact: 
archives@ualberta.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Eleanor Silver Keeping (Dowding)

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
Fonds 309
Métiers en STIM: 
Mycologie
Botanique
Génétique
Description: 

Correspondance personnelle 1933-1964 ; associations professionnelles ; collègues ; Elizabeth Sterling Haynes. Memorabilia 1930-1973 Comprend les écrits de John Keeping ; des coupures de journaux ; des souvenirs de conférences mycologiques et botaniques. Photographies 1930-1975 Activités personnelles et professionnelles, y compris la famille ; événements sociaux ; troupes de théâtre d'Edmonton ; voyages ; conférences (environ 225 images). Programmes 1926-1977 Beaux-arts et arts de la scène à Edmonton ; événements universitaires ; Club alpin du Canada. Publications (professionnelles) 1940-1973 Recherche [1930-1973] Comprend des notes, des dessins, des photographies, des transparents, des lames de microscope et de spécimens. Scrapbooks 1936-1940 Comptes rendus de voyages effectués à l'occasion de congrès professionnels en Europe, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Écrits (non professionnels) [1929]-1983 Essais ; discours ; articles publiés.

Biographie / Histoire administrative: 

Diplômé de l'Université, Dr. Keeping (1901-1991) a enseigné la botanique de 1924 à 1926, a été la première mycologue médicale au Laboratoire provincial de santé publique de 1933 à 1954. Elle a été associée de recherche aux départements de bactériologie de 1954-1957, de botanique de 1958-1961 et de génétique de 1962-1964. En 1964, elle a été nommée associée de recherche honoraire en génétique. Avec son mari, le Dr. Frank Keeping, Dr. Silver Keeping a été active dans le domaine des arts à Edmonton, en particulier dans les troupes de théâtre.

Date(s): 
1926-1983
Étendue: 
12,66 m de documents multimédia
Province: 
AB
Organisation: 
Université de l'Alberta
Contact: 
archives@ualberta.ca
Haut de page