Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Valerie Overend Collection

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
10-132
STEM Field: 
Trades and Technology
Description: 
The collection of documents represents the work that Valerie Overend carried out in order to encourage girls and young women to embrace non-traditional careers. It offers insight into her advocacy work and the training she provided to women in trades, technology, science and engineering. This collection mainly consists of textual documents and videos. It includes publications, training programs, curricula, workshop materials, survey and reports, and essays.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Valerie Overend was born in Regina, Saskatchewan in 1953. During the 1990s, Valerie worked as a Red Seal Carpenter on commercial construction projects in the Regina area with the local Carpenters Union. Valerie had never met another woman on a construction site and knew that she wanted to do something to change that situation. She knew that women wanted to work in physical, creative, well-paying jobs but that they were limited by opportunity. She took advantage of her role as a summer instructor and moved into creating other programs for girls and women, maintaining the focus on career exploration in trades and technology. For the next 25 years, Valerie made her living expanding on that role until to her retirement.
Date(s): 
[1970]-2012 
Extent: 
1.09 m of textual records | 4 posters | 41 videocassettes | 1 CD | 1 computer disk | 1 object
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
University of Ottawa
Collection Contact: 
arcs@uottawa.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Collection Valerie Overend

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
10-132
Métiers en STIM: 
Métiers et technologie
Description: 
La collection de documents représente le travail que Valerie Overend a réalisé afin d'encourager les filles et les jeunes femmes à embrasser des carrières non traditionnelles. Il offre un aperçu de son travail de défense des droits et de la formation qu'elle a donnée aux femmes dans les domaines des métiers, de la technologie, des sciences et de l'ingénierie. Cette collection se compose principalement de documents textuels et de vidéos. Il comprend des publications, des programmes de formation, des programmes d'études, du matériel d'atelier, des sondages et des rapports, ainsi que des essais.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Valerie Overend est née à Regina, en Saskatchewan, en 1953. Au cours des années 1990, Valerie a travaillé comme charpentier Sceau rouge sur des projets de construction commerciale dans la région de Regina avec le syndicat local des charpentiers. Valérie n'avait jamais rencontré une autre femme sur un chantier de construction et savait qu'elle voulait faire quelque chose pour changer cette situation. Elle savait que les femmes voulaient travailler dans des emplois physiques, créatifs et bien rémunérés, mais qu'elles étaient limitées par les opportunités. Elle a profité de son rôle d'instructeur d'été pour créer d'autres programmes pour les filles et les femmes, en maintenant l'accent sur l'exploration de carrière dans les métiers et la technologie. Pendant les 25 années suivantes, Valérie a gagné sa vie en développant ce rôle jusqu'à sa retraite.
Date(s): 
[1970]-2012 
Étendue: 
1.09 m de documents textuels, 4 affiches, 41 videocassettes, 1 CD, 1 disquette, 1 objet
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Université d'Ottawa
Contact: 
arcs@uottawa.ca
Haut de page