Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Bernice Goldsmith fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
P194
STEM Field: 
Engineering
Description: 
This fonds provides information on Bernice Goldsmith’s teaching activities at Concordia as well as her research interests in environmental impact assessment governance and laws, and environmental protection. The fonds includes course materials, research files, daily activity agendas, conference reports and notes, correspondence, and publications.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Bernice Goldsmith (née Iscovitch) was born on June 15, 1934. She married Carl (Beno) Goldsmith and had one child, Philip. She died in Montreal on March 26, 2014. She attended Sir George Williams University and graduated from Concordia University with a BA (Cum Laude) with Specialization in Science & Human Affairs in 1979. In 1976, she joined the Social Aspects of Engineering program as a part-time lecturer and taught a course on environmental and social impact assessment. The same year, she organized and set-up a Resource Centre, used by students for research on environmental assessment. In 1984, she succeeded Hugh McQueen as the program’s coordinator. Through her strong commitment to the program, it continued to grow and thrive. In June 1990 she was appointed assistant professor in the Faculty of Engineering and Computer Science. As well as teaching undergraduate courses, she developed and taught, in 1991, a graduate course on Environmental Life-Cycle Assessment which examined the environmental burdens associated with a product or a process from conception to disposition by incorporating the principles of green design. In 1992, she was the recipient of the Seagram Fund for Academic Innovation Award for the project Development of Interdisciplinary Case Study Methodology and Materials for Teaching/Training of Engineers, which resulted in a paper she presented in conjunction with the International Association for Impact Assessment (IAIA), in Shanghai, in June 1993. She had been a member of IAIA since 1982 and was on its international board from 1992 to 1995, and later became the liaison to the francophone secretariat in 1999. In 1998, she received an Outstanding Service Award for her many activities with the organization. She retired from Concordia in 2000. Following the conclusion of her teaching career, she applied her knowledge of technology, engineering and the environment to the area of environmental impact assessment. She co-chaired IAIA’s Trade Impact Assessment section, collaborating on the Principles of Environmental Impact Assessment Best Practices. In 2010, Bernice Goldsmith, along with Hugh McQueen, was a winner of Concordia’s inaugural Sustainable Champions prize, recognizing her contributions to analyses of life-cycle endurance. They were both instrumental in establishing Concordia’s recycling program in 1990. In 2014, the Bernice Goldsmith Bursary in the Social Aspects of Engineering was established in her memory.
Date(s): 
1967-2012
Extent: 
4.2 m of textual records, 3 videocassettes, 1 object, 50 photographs: prints, slides and negatives
Province: 
QC
Hosting Institution: 
Concordia University
Collection Contact: 
archives@concordia.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Bernice Goldsmith

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
P194
Métiers en STIM: 
Ingénierie
Description: 
Le fonds renseigne sur les activités d'enseignement de Bernice Goldsmith à l'Université Concordia ainsi que sur ses intérêts de recherche dans les domaines de la gouvernance et des lois en matière d'évaluation des impacts environnementaux et de la protection de l'environnement. Le fonds comprend du matériel didactique, des dossiers de recherche, des programmes d'activités, des rapports et des notes de conférences, de la correspondance et des publications.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Bernice Goldsmith (née Iscovitch) est née le 15 juin 1934. Elle a épousé Carl (Beno) Goldsmith et a eu un enfant, Philip. Elle est décédée à Montréal le 26 mars 2014. Elle a étudié à l'Université Sir George Williams et a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation en sciences et affaires humaines de l'Université Concordia en 1979. En 1976, elle s'est jointe au programme Aspects sociaux du génie à titre de chargée de cours à temps partiel et a donné un cours sur l'évaluation des impacts environnementaux et sociaux. La même année, elle a organisé et mis sur pied un centre de ressources, utilisé par les étudiants pour la recherche en évaluation environnementale. En 1984, elle a succédé à Hugh McQueen à titre de coordonnatrice du programme. Grâce à son solide engagement envers le programme, celui-ci a continué de croître et de prospérer. En juin 1990, elle a été nommée professeure adjointe à la Faculté de génie et d'informatique. En plus d'enseigner des cours de premier cycle, elle a élaboré et donné, en 1991, un cours d'études supérieures sur l'évaluation environnementale du cycle de vie qui examinait les charges environnementales associées à un produit ou à un processus, de sa conception à son élimination, en intégrant les principes de la conception écologique. En 1992, elle a reçu le prix Seagram Fund for Academic Innovation Award pour le projet Development of Interdisciplinary Case Study Methodology and Materials for Teaching/Training of Engineers, qui a donné lieu à une communication qu'elle a présentée conjointement avec l'International Association for Impact Assessment (IAIA), à Shanghai, en juin 1993. Elle était membre de l'AIEI depuis 1982 et a siégé à son conseil d'administration international de 1992 à 1995, avant de devenir la liaison avec le secrétariat francophone en 1999. En 1998, elle a reçu un prix pour services exceptionnels pour ses nombreuses activités au sein de l'organisation. Elle a pris sa retraite de Concordia en 2000. À la fin de sa carrière d'enseignante, elle a appliqué ses connaissances en technologie, en génie et en environnement au domaine de l'évaluation des impacts environnementaux. Elle a coprésidé la section de l'AIEI sur l'évaluation de l'impact sur le commerce, collaborant sur les Principes des meilleures pratiques en matière d'évaluation de l'impact environnemental. En 2010, Bernice Goldsmith et Hugh McQueen ont remporté le premier prix Sustainable Champions de l'Université Concordia, en reconnaissance de leur contribution aux analyses de l'endurance du cycle de vie. Ils ont tous deux joué un rôle déterminant dans l'établissement du programme de recyclage de l'Université Concordia en 1990. En 2014, la bourse Bernice Goldsmith dans le domaine des aspects sociaux du génie a été créée à sa mémoire.
Date(s): 
1967-2012
Étendue: 
4,2 m de documents textuels, 3 cassettes vidéo, 1 objet, 50 photographies: tirages, diapositives et négatifs
Province: 
QC
Organisation: 
Université Concordia
Contact: 
archives@concordia.ca
Haut de page