Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Rose Sheinin fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
P245
STEM Field: 
Biochemistry
Description: 
The fonds provides mainly information on Dr. Rose Sheinin’s research and teaching activities at the University of Toronto and on her career as a university administrator at Concordia University. The fonds includes course material, lectures, research files, reports, articles, press clippings and correspondence.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Rose Sheinin (née Shuber) was born on May 18, 1930 in Toronto. She married Joseph Sheinin, a professional engineer, in 1951 and they had three children, David, Lisa and Rachel. She died in Toronto on March 20, 2009. She was educated at Harbord Collegiate Institute. She attended the University of Toronto, where she received an Honours BA in Science in 1951, an MA in Biochemistry in 1953 and a PhD in Biochemistry in 1956. She was a respected scientist (teaching and research), feminist and university administrator. She taught at the University of Toronto for 25 years in the Departments of Microbiology, Medical Biophysics, and in Microbiology and Parasitology. She was the Chair of Microbiology and Parasitology 1975-1981 and became Vice-Dean of the School of Graduate Studies at the University of Toronto, 1984-1989. In 1989, she moved to Montreal when she was appointed Professor in the Department of Biology and Vice-Rector, Academic at Concordia University. A distinguished teacher in physiology and biochemistry, she was also an internationally respected researcher, a specialist in cancer research and DNA replication. For more than 30 years the Medical Research Council of Canada and the national Cancer Institute of Canada funded her research. She had more than one hundred scholarly publications in refereed journals. In addition to her other research work, Rose Sheinin was interested in the history of women in medicine and Canadian women scientists and in the development of science policy in Canada in relation to women. In addition to her many research awards and prizes, Dr. Sheinin received honorary degrees from Mount Saint Vincent University in 1985 and Acadia University in 1987. She was also the recipient of the Government of Canada’s Queen’s Silver Jubilee Medal in 1978 and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1981. During her tenure as Vice-Rector Academic at Concordia, Rose Sheinin played a major role in the establishment of comprehensive academic planning. She championed and oversaw the establishment of the School of Graduate Studies in June 1992, improved research infrastructure to provide better support for researchers and promoted the active participation and advancement of women and other minorities in all aspects of the Concordia community. Her term was also marked with a period of serious financial compression as well as the trauma of the Fabrikant Affair in which four Concordia faculty members were murdered in August 1992 by engineering professor Valery Fabrikant. Dr. Sheinin left her administrative position in June 1994 and continued teaching biology at Concordia until she retired in 2000. She eventually returned to Toronto, where she remained active in women’s equality issues and Yiddish culture.
Date(s): 
1952-2007
Extent: 
16.50 m of textual records, 1 compact cassette, 229 diskettes (textual records), ca. 200 photographs : prints, contact sheets, slides
Province: 
QC
Hosting Institution: 
Concordia University
Collection Contact: 
archives@concordia.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Rose Sheinin

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
P245
Métiers en STIM: 
Biochimie
Description: 
Le fonds fournit principalement de l'information sur les activités de recherche et d'enseignement de Mme Rose Sheinin à l'Université de Toronto et sur sa carrière d'administratrice universitaire à l'Université Concordia. Le fonds comprend du matériel de cours, des conférences, des dossiers de recherche, des rapports, des articles, des coupures de presse et de la correspondance.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Rose Sheinin (née Shuber) est née le 18 mai 1930 à Toronto. Elle a épousé Joseph Sheinin, ingénieur, en 1951 et ils ont eu trois enfants, David, Lisa et Rachel. Elle est décédée à Toronto le 20 mars 2009. Elle a fait ses études au Harbord Collegiate Institute. Elle a étudié à l'Université de Toronto, où elle a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en sciences en 1951, une maîtrise en biochimie en 1953 et un doctorat en biochimie en 1956. Elle était une scientifique respectée (enseignement et recherche), féministe et administratrice universitaire. Elle a enseigné à l'Université de Toronto pendant 25 ans dans les départements de microbiologie, de biophysique médicale et de microbiologie et parasitologie. Elle a été titulaire de la chaire de microbiologie et de parasitologie de 1975 à 1981 et est devenue vice-doyenne de l'École des études supérieures de l'Université de Toronto de 1984 à 1989. En 1989, elle déménage à Montréal où elle est nommée professeure au Département de biologie et vice-rectrice aux études à l'Université Concordia. Professeur émérite de physiologie et de biochimie, elle a également été une chercheuse de renommée internationale, spécialiste de la recherche sur le cancer et de la réplication de l'ADN. Pendant plus de 30 ans, le Conseil de recherches médicales du Canada et l'Institut national du cancer du Canada ont financé ses recherches. Elle a publié plus d'une centaine d'articles savants dans des revues avec des comités de lecture. En plus de ses autres travaux de recherche, Rose Sheinin s'intéressait à l'histoire des femmes en médecine et des femmes scientifiques canadiennes ainsi qu'à l'élaboration de la politique scientifique au Canada concernant les femmes. En plus de ses nombreux prix et bourses de recherche, Mme Sheinin a reçu des doctorats honorifiques de l'Université Mount Saint Vincent en 1985 et de l'Université Acadia en 1987. Elle a également reçu la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine du Canada en 1978 et a été membre de la Société royale du Canada en 1981. Au cours de son mandat de vice-recteur à l'enseignement à Concordia, Rose Sheinin a joué un rôle majeur dans l'établissement d'une planification universitaire globale. Elle s'est fait la championne et a supervisé la création de l'École des études supérieures en juin 1992, a amélioré l'infrastructure de recherche afin d'offrir un meilleur soutien aux chercheurs et a favorisé la participation active et l'avancement des femmes et des autres minorités dans tous les aspects de la communauté Concordia. Son mandat a également été marqué par une période de grave compression financière ainsi que par le traumatisme de l'affaire Fabrikant, au cours de laquelle quatre professeurs de l'Université Concordia ont été assassinés en août 1992 par le professeur de génie Valery Fabrikant. Dre Sheinin a quitté son poste administratif en juin 1994 et a continué à enseigner la biologie à Concordia jusqu'à sa retraite en 2000. Elle est finalement retournée à Toronto, où elle est demeurée active dans le domaine de l'égalité des femmes et de la culture yiddish.
Date(s): 
1952-2007
Étendue: 
16,5 m de documents textuels, 1 cassette audio, 229 disquettes (documents textuels), ca. 200 photographies : tirages, planches-contacts, diapositives
Province: 
QC
Organisation: 
Université Concordia
Contact: 
archives@concordia.ca
Haut de page