Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Rosemary McConkey collection

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
80-020
STEM Field: 
Nutrition
Description: 
This collection consists of 278 slides taken by Rosemary McConkey during her work as a nutritionist in Malaya (1962) and in Nigeria (1965). McConkey was part of a team of medical personnel and scientists from the University of Ohio who undertook surveys of nutritional needs in these two areas. McConkey has supplied a detailed listing of the slides and has also included a 45 r.p.m. recording of the national anthem of Malaya 'Negara Ku,', six books relating to the two areas and a map of Malaya. A complete listing of all slides prepared by Rosemary McConkey is available in the Reading Room.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Rosemary McConkey, M. Sc., was educated at the University of Western Ontario, Ohio State University and the University of Chicago. She holds a Master of Science degree and has worked as a dietitian, nutritionist and health educationist at such institutions as South Chicago community Hospital, Mercy hospital and Medical Center Chicago, Monreal General Hospital, St. Joseph's Hospital and Peterborough Civic Hospital in Peterborough Ontario. McConkey was also Assistant Professor in the Department of Preventative Medicine at Ohio State University. She has been active in many venues as a health and nutrition consultant and teacher including being Director of Research and Development at the International Health Awareness Center in Michigan. Her last position before retirement was as Chief Therapeutic Dietician at Peterborough Civic Hospital.
Date(s): 
1962-1965
Extent: 
278 slides plus other material
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
Trent University
Collection Contact: 
archives@trentu.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Collection Rosemary McConkey

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
80-020
Métiers en STIM: 
Nutrition
Description: 
Cette collection comprend 278 diapositives prises par Rosemary McConkey pendant son travail de nutritionniste en Malaisie (1962) et au Nigeria (1965). M. McConkey faisait partie d'une équipe de professionnels de la santé et de scientifiques de l'Université de l'Ohio qui a entrepris des enquêtes sur les besoins nutritionnels. McConkey a fourni une liste détaillée des diapositives et a également inclus un enregistrement de 45 tours de l'hymne national de la Malaisie 'Negara Ku', six livres concernant la Malaisie et le Nigeria et une carte de la Malaisie. Une liste complète de toutes les diapositives préparées par Rosemary McConkey est disponible dans la salle de lecture.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Rosemary McConkey, M.Sc., a fait ses études à l'Université Western Ontario, à l'Ohio State University et à l'Université de Chicago. Elle détient une maîtrise ès sciences et a travaillé comme diététiste, nutritionniste et éducatrice en santé dans des établissements comme le South Chicago Community Hospital, le Mercy Hospital and Medical Center Chicago, le Monreal General Hospital, le St. Joseph's Hospital et le Peterborough Civic Hospital à Peterborough en Ontario. McConkey a également été professeur adjoint au département de médecine préventive de l'Ohio State University. Elle a été active dans de nombreux domaines en tant que consultante et enseignante en santé et nutrition, notamment en tant que directrice de la recherche et du développement à l'International Health Awareness Center, au Michigan. Son dernier poste avant sa retraite était celui de diététicienne thérapeutique en chef à l'hôpital Civic de Peterborough.
Date(s): 
1962-1965
Étendue: 
278 diapositives et autres documents
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Université Trent
Contact: 
archives@trentu.ca
Haut de page