Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Norma Stowe fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
TMM F0074
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
Fonds consists of material gathered and created by Norma Stowe during her time of service during WWII in the South African Military Nursing Service. Stowe sent letters home from both South Africa and Cairo where she was stationed as a nurse working for the South African Army. These letters are arranged chronologically in the Correspondence series. Photographs, which were likely originally sent as enclosures, are arranged in the Photographs series. Other material, including ephemera, certificates, and military documentation, is arranged in thematic series corresponding to the folders in which the material was received into the archives.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Norma Kathleen Stowe was born in Miniota, Manitoba on July 22, 1915. She graduated from the Brandon General Hospital School of Nursing in 1938. During WWII, in response to an advertisement calling for nursing help in South Africa, Stowe enlisted with the Canadian Army and served as a nurse in Potchefstroom, South Africa from 1942 to 1944 before being transferred to Cairo towards the end of the war. She returned to Canada in 1945 and settled in Winnipeg. Stowe died in October 1997.
Date(s): 
1941-1945, 2012
Extent: 
30 cm of textual records, 20 photographs, 1 monograph, 1 notebook
Province: 
AB
Hosting Institution: 
University of Calgary
Collection Contact: 
jason.nisenson@ucalgary.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Norma Stowe

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
TMM F0074
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de documents recueillis et créés par Norma Stowe au cours de son service pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale dans le South African Military Nursing Service. Stowe a envoyé des lettres d'Afrique du Sud et du Caire, où elle était infirmière en poste dans l'armée sud-africaine. Ces lettres sont classées par ordre chronologique dans la série Correspondance. Les photographies, qui ont probablement été envoyées à l'origine sous forme de pièces jointes, sont classées dans la série Photographies. D'autres documents, y compris les documents éphémères, les certificats et la documentation militaire, sont classés par séries thématiques correspondant aux dossiers dans lesquels les documents ont été reçus dans les archives.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Norma Kathleen Stowe est née à Miniota, au Manitoba, le 22 juillet 1915. Elle a obtenu son diplôme de l'École des sciences infirmières de l'Hôpital général de Brandon en 1938. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, en réponse à une annonce demandant de l'aide infirmière en Afrique du Sud, Stowe s'enrôle dans l'Armée canadienne et sert comme infirmière à Potchefstroom, en Afrique du Sud, de 1942 à 1944 avant d'être mutée au Caire vers la fin de la guerre. Elle est revenue au Canada en 1945 et s'est installée à Winnipeg. Stowe est décédée en octobre 1997.
Date(s): 
1941-1945, 2012
Étendue: 
30 cm de documents textuels, 20 photographies, 1 monographie, 1 carnet
Province: 
AB
Organisation: 
Université de Calgary
Contact: 
jason.nisenson@ucalgary.ca
Haut de page