Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

School of Nursing fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The fonds consists of records from the School of Nursing, most of which had been accumulated in the course of office administrative activity, and some of which had been collected for the purpose of writing a history of the School. The fonds is arranged in the following series: Office Files (1942-1991), History of Nursing at UBC (1919-1965), School of Nursing Golden Jubilee (1969), Elizabeth McCann's Project Files (1980-1981), and Photographs (including a scrapbook) (1940-1969).
Biography/Administrative History: 
In 1919 the University of British Columbia instituted the first degree course in nursing in the British Empire. The original aim of the program was 'to provide a liberal education for the student nurse and to equip her to meet all professional demands, especially those in the Public Health field and for executive posts'. Ethel Johns was selected for the dual role of coordinator of the University program and Director of Nursing at Vancouver General Hospital. In 1924 the Departments of Nursing and of Public Health were merged to form the Department of Nursing and Health in the Faculty of Applied Science. Mabel Gray was appointed department head the next year, succeeded by Evelyn Mallory in 1944. In 1951 the program was re-organized as the School of Nursing, with Evelyn Mallory as Director. From its beginnings the School has evolved and expanded, so that in 1991 it offered baccalaureate programs leading to the BSN for both high-school graduates and registered nurses, a master's program leading to the MSN, and non-credit courses in continuing nursing education. Since 1951, the School's Directors have been Evelyn Mallory (1951-67), Elizabeth McCann (1967-71), Muriel Uprichard (1971-76), Marilyn Willman (1977-93), Katharyn May (1994-2000), and Sally Thorne (2002-10).
Date(s): 
1918-2002
Extent: 
3.03 m of textual records, 163 photographs, 1 scrapbook
Province: 
BC
Hosting Institution: 
University of British Columbia
Collection Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

School of Nursing fonds

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de documents de l'École des sciences infirmières, dont la plupart avaient été accumulés dans le cadre d'activités administratives de bureau et dont certains avaient été recueillis dans le but d'écrire une histoire de l'École. Le fonds est organisé selon les séries suivantes : Office Files (1942-1991), History of Nursing at UBC (1919-1965), School of Nursing Golden Jubilee (1969), Elizabeth McCann's Project Files (1980-1981), and Photographs (including a scrapbook) (1940-1969).
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
En 1919, l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique a institué le premier cours de sciences infirmières dans l'Empire britannique. L'objectif initial du programme était 'd'offrir une formation libérale à l'étudiante infirmière et de l'équiper pour répondre à toutes les exigences professionnelles, en particulier dans le domaine de la santé publique et pour les postes de direction'. Ethel Johns a été choisie pour le double rôle de coordonnatrice du programme universitaire et de directrice des soins infirmiers au Vancouver General Hospital. En 1924, les départements de soins infirmiers et de santé publique ont été fusionnés pour former le département de soins infirmiers et de santé de la faculté des sciences appliquées. Mabel Gray est nommée chef de service l'année suivante, puis Evelyn Mallory lui succède en 1944. En 1951, le programme a été réorganisé pour devenir l'École des sciences infirmières, avec Evelyn Mallory comme directrice. Depuis ses débuts, l'École a évolué et pris de l'expansion, de sorte qu'en 1991, elle a offert des programmes de baccalauréat menant au BSN pour les diplômés du secondaire et les infirmières autorisées, un programme de maîtrise menant au MSN et des cours sans crédit en formation continue en sciences infirmières. Depuis 1951, les directeurs de l'École sont Evelyn Mallory (1951-1967), Elizabeth McCann (1967-1971), Muriel Uprichard (1971-1976), Marilyn Willman (1977-1993), Katharyn May (1994-2000) et Sally Thorne (2002-10).
Date(s): 
1918-2002
Étendue: 
3,03 m de documents textuels, 163 photographies, 1 album de collimage
Province: 
BC
Organisation: 
Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Haut de page