Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Caroline Astell fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
STEM Field: 
Microbiology
Description: 
Fonds consists of 20 lab notebooks (1966-1970) containing notes from Caroline Astell’s PhD studies. The notebooks include the results of her studies with Michael Smith in the area of oligonucleotides beginning about May 1968.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Caroline Astell was educated at the University of British Columbia (BSc 1964, MSc 1966, PhD 1970) and returned to teach there and received tenure in July of 1985. The fonds relates to her time as a PhD student in the lab and her work with Nobel prize winner Michael Smith. Astell, a member of many scholarly societies, including the American Society of Microbiology and the American Society for Virology, was herself a winner of the Killam Research Award in 1985. Astell has served on a variety of organizations on campus as well, including the Graduate Admissions Committee and the Killam Postdoctoral Fellowship Committee. Astell has studied the replication of paroviruses since the late 1970s and determined the complete sequence of the first autonomous virus in 1982, later extending the research to include the human B19 parovirus, a newly recognized pathogen. She has published a variety of works, including a number coauthored with Michael Smith, including 'Thermal elution of complementary sequences of nucleic acids on cellulose columns with covalently attached olignucleotides of known length and sequence' (1972).
Date(s): 
1966-1970
Extent: 
52 cm of textual records
Province: 
BC
Hosting Institution: 
University of British Columbia
Collection Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Caroline Astell

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
Métiers en STIM: 
Microbiologie
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de 20 cahiers de laboratoire (1966-1970) contenant des notes tirées des études de doctorat de Caroline Astell. Les carnets comprennent les résultats de ses études avec Michael Smith dans le domaine des oligonucléotides qui ont débuté vers mai 1968.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Caroline Astell a fait ses études à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique (B.Sc. 1964, M.Sc. 1966, Ph.D. 1970) et y est retournée pour y enseigner et a obtenu sa permanence en juillet 1985. Le fonds se rapporte à l'époque où elle était étudiante au doctorat au laboratoire et à son travail avec le lauréat du prix Nobel Michael Smith. Astell, membre de nombreuses sociétés savantes, dont l'American Society of Microbiology et l'American Society for Virology, a elle-même reçu le Killam Research Award en 1985. Astell a également siégé à divers organismes sur le campus, dont le Comité des admissions des diplômés et le Comité des bourses postdoctorales Killam. Astell étudie la réplication des parovirus depuis la fin des années 1970 et a déterminé la séquence complète du premier virus autonome en 1982, élargissant ensuite la recherche pour inclure le parovirus B19 humain, un pathogène nouvellement reconnu. Elle a publié divers ouvrages, dont un certain nombre co-écrit avec Michael Smith, dont 'Thermal elution of complementary sequences of nucleic acids on cellulose columns with covalently attached olignucleotides of known length and sequence' (1972).
Date(s): 
1966-1970
Étendue: 
52 cm de documents textuels
Province: 
BC
Organisation: 
Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Haut de page