Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Eileen Flanagan fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The fonds consists of 15 incoming letters from Ethel Johns (1948-1950, 1961-1965), Director of Nursing Services and Education at Vancouver General Hospital and coordinator of the new nursing program at UBC. Under Johns’ guidance the five-year program leading to the B.Sc. (Nursing) was established. The fonds also includes biographical information and records relating to various awards presented to Flanagan including an honourary doctorate from McGill University (1977).
Biography/Administrative History: 
Eileen Flanagan was born in Pontiac County, Quebec. After graduating from high school she completed the nursing course at the Royal Victoria Hospital and later undertook post-graduate studies in England. Flanagan was selected to be the first Director of Nursing at the Montreal Neurological Institute where she remained until her retirement in 1961. After retiring, Flanagan entered the Faculty of Law at McGill where she concentrated on the legal aspects of the nursing profession.
Date(s): 
1948-1984
Extent: 
1 folder
Province: 
BC
Hosting Institution: 
University of British Columbia
Collection Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Eileen Flanagan

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de 15 lettres reçues d'Ethel Johns (1948-1950, 1961-1965), directrice des services infirmiers et de l'éducation au Vancouver General Hospital et coordonnatrice du nouveau programme des sciences infirmières à l'UBC. Sous la direction de Johns, le programme quinquennal menant au baccalauréat ès sciences (sciences infirmières) a été établi. Le fonds comprend également des renseignements biographiques et des documents relatifs à divers prix décernés à Flanagan, dont un doctorat honorifique de l'Université McGill (1977).
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Eileen Flanagan est née dans le comté de Pontiac, au Québec. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme d'études secondaires, elle a suivi le cours d'infirmière à l'hôpital Royal Victoria et a ensuite entrepris des études supérieures en Angleterre. Flanagan a été choisie pour être la première directrice des soins infirmiers à l'Institut neurologique de Montréal où elle est demeurée jusqu'à sa retraite en 1961. Après avoir pris sa retraite, Mme Flanagan est entrée à la Faculté de droit de McGill où elle s'est concentrée sur les aspects juridiques de la profession infirmière.
Date(s): 
1948-1984
Étendue: 
1 dossier
Province: 
BC
Organisation: 
Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Haut de page