Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Ethel Johns fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
Fonds includes correspondence, reports, minutes, notes, photographs, drafts of Johns' unfinished autobiography and related papers, and manuscripts of a considerable number of her articles and speeches the majority of which were published. Among the letters here included are those which Johns wrote to Eileen C. Flanagan during the period 1949-1967, and which the latter has donated.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Ethel Johns, the first director of the School of Nursing at the University of British Columbia, was born in England in 1879. She spent her adolescent years on the Wabigoon Indian Reserve, Ontario, where her father was the teacher. Cora Hind visited the Reserve, by chance, and became interested in Ethel and was helpful in facilitating her admission, in 1899, to the Winnipeg General Hospital Training School for Nurses. Following her graduation, in 1902, Miss Johns engaged in private duty nursing for a short time before returning to Winnipeg General Hospital in 1905 to work as a teacher, head nurse, and nurse in charge of the x-ray department, radiology then being in its infancy. In 1914, she went to Teachers College, Columbia University. She returned to Canada in 1915 to accept the position of superintendent of The Children's Hospital of Winnipeg. In 1919, Johns was appointed to the dual position of director of nursing service and education of the Vancouver General Hospital and coordinator of the newly established programme in Nursing at the University of British Columbia. The Rockefeller Foundation, in 1925, invited Ethel Johns to serve in an advisory capacity in a programme to develop schools of nursing to prepare young women who wished to enter the public health field. She became a field director of the Foundation's nursing programme in Europe and assisted in the development of nursing schools connected with universities at Debrecen, Hungary and Cluj, Romania. In 1929, Johns served for three years as Director of Studies for the Committee on Nursing Organization of the New York Hospital - Cornell Medical College Association Project. Johns returned to Canada in 1933 to become the editor and business manager of The Canadian Nurse, a position which she held until her retirement in 1944. The Canadian Nurses' Association recognized Ethel Johns' distinguished contribution to nursing by awarding her, in 1940, the Mary Agnes Snively Memorial Medal, and in 1958, an honorary life membership in the Association. Mount Allison University, in 1948, conferred upon Ethel Johns the degree, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa. Ethel Johns’ retirement was spent largely in Vancouver where she collaborated with Blanche Pfefferkorn in writing a history of the Johns Hopkins Hospital School of Nursing. During her retirement, Miss Johns also edited and composed for the J.B. Lippincott Company a series of pamphlets entitled 'Just Plain Nursing.' She also wrote a history of the Winnipeg General Hospital School of Nursing. Johns died in Vancouver on September 2, 1968.
Date(s): 
1879-1967
Extent: 
75.5 cm of textual records and published materials, 10 photographs: 25.5 x 20.5 cm or smaller, 1 album
Province: 
BC
Hosting Institution: 
University of British Columbia
Collection Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Ethel Johns

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds comprend de la correspondance, des rapports, des procès-verbaux, des notes, des photographies, des ébauches de l'autobiographie inachevée de Mme Johns et des documents connexes, ainsi que des manuscrits de ses articles et discours, dont la plupart ont été publiés. Parmi les lettres sont incluses celles écrites par Johns à Eileen C. Flanagan au cours de la période 1949-1967. Ces dernières lettres sont un don d’Eileen C. Flanagan.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Ethel Johns, première directrice de l'École des sciences infirmières de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, est née en Angleterre en 1879. Elle a passé son adolescence dans la réserve indienne de Wabigoon, en Ontario, où son père était enseignant. Cora Hind a visité la réserve, par hasard, et s'est intéressée à Ethel. Elle a facilité son admission, en 1899, à l'École de formation des infirmières du Winnipeg General Hospital. Après l'obtention de son diplôme, en 1902, Mlle Johns s'est engagée dans des soins infirmiers privés pendant une courte période avant de retourner à l'Hôpital général de Winnipeg en 1905 pour travailler comme enseignante, infirmière en chef et infirmière responsable du service de radiologie, domaine médical alors à ses prémices. En 1914, elle fréquente le Teachers College de l'Université Columbia. Elle est revenue au Canada en 1915 pour accepter le poste de surintendante du Children's Hospital of Winnipeg. En 1919, Johns est nommée directrice des services infirmiers et de l'enseignement à l'Hôpital général de Vancouver et coordonnatrice du nouveau programme de sciences infirmières de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. La Fondation Rockefeller, en 1925, invita Ethel Johns à jouer un rôle consultatif dans un programme visant à développer des écoles de sciences infirmières pour préparer les jeunes femmes qui souhaitaient entrer dans le domaine de la santé publique. Elle est devenue directrice sur le terrain du programme de soins infirmiers de la Fondation en Europe et a contribué au développement d'écoles de sciences infirmières reliées aux universités de Debrecen (Hongrie) et de Cluj (Roumanie). En 1929, elle a été pendant trois ans directrice des études pour le Committee on Nursing Organization de l'Hôpital de New York - Cornell Medical College Association Project. Ethel Johns est revenue au Canada en 1933 pour devenir rédactrice en chef et directrice commerciale de The Canadian Nurse, poste qu'elle a occupé jusqu'à sa retraite en 1944. L'Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada a reconnu la contribution remarquable d'Ethel Johns aux soins infirmiers en lui décernant, en 1940, la Médaille commémorative Mary Agnes Snively et, en 1958, une adhésion honorifique à vie à l'Association. Mount Allison University, en 1948, a décerné à Ethel Johns le diplôme de Docteure en droit honoris causa. Ethel Johns a passé une grande partie de sa retraite à Vancouver, où elle a collaboré avec Blanche Pfefferkorn à la rédaction de l'histoire de la Johns Hopkins Hospital School of Nursing. Au cours de sa retraite, Mlle Johns a également édité et composé pour la compagnie J.B. Lippincott une série de dépliants intitulés 'Just Plain Nursing'. Elle a également rédigé un historique de l'école des sciences infirmières de l'Hôpital général de Winnipeg. Johns est décédé à Vancouver le 2 septembre 1968.
Date(s): 
1879-1967
Étendue: 
75,5 cm de documents textuels et publications, 10 photographies : 25,5 x 20,5 cm, 1 album
Province: 
BC
Organisation: 
Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Haut de page