Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Margaret North fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
STEM Field: 
Geography
Description: 
Materials in the fonds include memos, correspondence, notes, proposal papers, publications and copies of publication, as well as slides and photographs. Some materials are originally from the Campus Planning Office.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Margaret North was an instructor in the UBC Department of Geography, and later a Senior Instructor Emeritus. She received her B.Sc. from London University and her M.A. from the University of Kansas in 1961. Her area of focus was biogeography, and her research interests focused on vegetation change along the Peace River. North also served as the committee chair for the UBC Technical Committee on the Pacific Spirit Regional Park. She was involved in two events regarding the development of the Point Grey campus: the erosion plans for the Point Grey Cliffs proposed in the late 1970s, and the issues surrounding construction in the UBC arboretum in the early 1990s. In 1979, proposals by Swan Wooster engineering company to deal with erosion of Wreck beach cliffs met with some contention. Alternate proposals and critiques of the project were constructed by geology students as part of a class project for presentation. In 1991, plans for the First Nations Longhouse to be constructed in the arboretum led to protest over the removal of several specimens of trees. Petitions and signs were created to draw attention to the issue. Plans were changed so that fewer trees were removed, several trees were replanted, and two were given reprieve.
Date(s): 
1979-1991
Extent: 
22 cm of textual material, 36 photographs; colour slides and prints
Province: 
BC
Hosting Institution: 
University of British Columbia
Collection Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Margaret North

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
Métiers en STIM: 
Géographie
Description: 
Les documents du fonds comprennent des notes de service, de la correspondance, des notes, des documents de proposition, des publications et des copies de publications, ainsi que des diapositives et des photographies. Certains documents proviennent du Bureau de planification du campus.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Margaret North a été instructrice au département de géographie de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique, puis instructrice principale émérite. Elle a obtenu son B.Sc. de l'Université de Londres et sa M.A. de l'Université du Kansas en 1961. Son domaine d'intérêt était la biogéographie et ses intérêts de recherche portaient sur les changements de la végétation le long de la rivière de la Paix. M. North a également été président du comité technique de l'UBC sur le parc régional Pacific Spirit. Elle a participé à deux événements concernant le développement du campus de Point Grey : les plans d'érosion des falaises de Point Grey proposés à la fin des années 1970 et les questions entourant la construction de l'arboretum de l'UBC au début des années 1990. En 1979, les propositions de la société d'ingénierie Swan Wooster pour faire face à l'érosion des falaises de la plage de l'épave ont été contestées. D'autres propositions et critiques du projet ont été élaborées par des étudiants en géologie dans le cadre d'un projet de classe pour présentation. En 1991, les plans de construction de la longue maison des Premières Nations dans l'arboretum ont conduit à protester contre l'enlèvement de plusieurs spécimens d'arbres. Des pétitions et des pancartes ont été créées pour attirer l'attention sur cette question. Les plans ont été modifiés de sorte que moins d'arbres ont été enlevés, plusieurs arbres ont été replantés et deux ont bénéficié d'un sursis.
Date(s): 
1979-1991
Étendue: 
22 cm de documents textuels, 36 photographies ; diapositives et tirages
Province: 
BC
Organisation: 
Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Haut de page