Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Richard Splane and Verna Huffman Splane fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
Fonds contains records pertaining to the separate careers and personal lives of both Verna Huffman Splane and Richard Splane, and their life together as a couple. Work records reflect Richard’s work in Alberta, his time in the RCAF, and his lengthy career in the federal government as well as Verna’s work for WHO, the federal government, and as a faculty member at UBC and the University of Victoria. These records include government reports, meeting minutes and agenda, correspondence, articles, course outlines and notes. Personal records reflect both Richard and Verna’s social lives and interest in social welfare outside of their careers. These records include correspondence, curriculum vitae, photographs (print and digital), notes, articles and publications, meeting minutes and agenda, and certificates. The records reflecting Richard and Verna’s joint life has been arranged into eight series: Chief Nursing Officers Study, Home and Social Life, Personal Correspondence, University Hill Congregation, Social Welfare Work, Honours and Awards, Photographs, and Audio-visual. The fonds also includes two sous-fonds: the Richard Beverly Splane sous-fonds and the Verna Huffman Splane sous-fonds.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Verna Huffman Splane was born in 1914 in Peterborough, Ontario. She became a nurse after high school. In 1939 received a diploma in Public Health from the University of Toronto School of Nursing, and worked from the Victorian Order of Nurses until she entered Columbia University where she graduated with a Bachelor in Science in 1957 and then went on to earn a master’s degree in public health from the University of Michigan. After she graduated she worked for the World Health Organization as a nurse advisory in the health ministries of Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, and the Windward and Leeward Islands. Upon her return to Canada she joined the federal Department of National Health and Welfare as a public health nursing consultant from 1963-1966, though she returned to the WHO to work on a national health planning project in Libya in 1966. In 1967 she once again returned to Canada, becoming Canada’s first Chief Nursing Officer, a position that she held until 1972. After her marriage to Richard Splane in 1971 the couple moved to Vancouver in 1973 where Verna joined the UBC School of Nursing from 1975 to 1984, and in 1985 she joined the University of Victoria School of Nursing faculty until 1991. She was made an Officer of the Order of Canada, and was granted the Queen’s Silver and Golden Jubilee medals (1977 and 2002). She held several honorary degrees and won awards such as the Jeanne Mance Award and the Lillian Carter Centre for International Nursing Award from Emory University. She died in January 2015. Verna and Richard were married in 1971 following the death of Richard’s first wife Marion. After their move to Vancouver they were active members of the University Hill congregation of the United Church of Canada, and together undertook a study on Chief Nursing Officer positions around the Globe, which resulted in the 1994 publication Chief Nursing Officers in National Ministries of Health: Focal Points for Nursing Leadership. In 1996 they were awarded UBC’s first ever-joint honorary degree.
Date(s): 
1936-2013
Extent: 
7.12 m of textual records and other materials
Province: 
BC
Hosting Institution: 
University of British Columbia
Collection Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Richard Splane et Verna Huffman Splane

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent des carrières et de la vie personnelle de Verna Huffman Splane et de Richard Splane, ainsi que de leur vie commune en couple. Les dossiers de travail reflètent le travail de Richard en Alberta, au sein de l'ARC, et sa longue carrière au gouvernement fédéral. Ces dossiers reflètent également le travail de Verna pour l'OMS, le gouvernement fédéral et comme membre du corps professoral de l'UBC et de l'Université de Victoria. Ces documents comprennent les rapports gouvernementaux, les procès-verbaux et l'ordre du jour des réunions, la correspondance, les articles, les plans de cours et les notes. Les dossiers personnels reflètent à la fois la vie sociale de Richard et de Verna et leur intérêt pour le bien-être social. Ces dossiers comprennent de la correspondance, des curriculum vitae, des photographies (imprimées et numériques), des notes, des articles et des publications, des procès-verbaux, des ordres du jour de réunions et des certificats. Les documents reflétant la vie commune de Richard et Verna ont été classés en huit séries : Chief Nursing Officers Study, Home and Social Life, Personal Correspondence, University Hill Congregation, Social Welfare Work, Honours and Awards, Photographs, and Audio-visual. Le fonds comprend également deux sous-fonds : le sous-fonds Richard Beverly Splane et le sous-fonds Verna Huffman Splane.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Verna Huffman Splane est née en 1914 à Peterborough, en Ontario. Elle est devenue infirmière après le lycée. En 1939, elle obtient un diplôme en santé publique de l'École des sciences infirmières de l'Université de Toronto et travaille pour les Infirmières de l'Ordre de Victoria du Canada jusqu'à son entrée à l'Université Columbia où elle obtient un baccalauréat en sciences en 1957, puis une maîtrise en santé publique de l'Université du Michigan. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, elle a travaillé pour l'Organisation mondiale de la santé en tant qu'infirmière-conseil dans les ministères de la santé de la Guyane, de la Jamaïque, de Trinité-et-Tobago, de la Barbade, des îles du Vent (Antilles). À son retour au Canada, elle rejoint le ministère fédéral de la Santé nationale et du Bien-être social à titre d'infirmière-conseil en santé publique de 1963 à 1966. Elle retourne cependant travailler pour l'OMS pour un projet de planification nationale de la santé en Libye en 1966. En 1967, elle revient au Canada, devenant la première infirmière en chef du Canada, poste qu'elle occupe jusqu'en 1972. Après son mariage avec Richard Splane en 1971, le couple déménage à Vancouver en 1973, où Verna rejoint l'École des sciences infirmières de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique de 1975 à 1984. En 1985, elle entre à la faculté des sciences infirmières de l'Université de Victoria et y restera jusqu'en 1991. Elle est nommée Officier de l'Ordre du Canada et reçoit les médailles du jubilé d'argent et du jubilé d'or de la Reine (1977 et 2002). Elle est titulaire de plusieurs doctorats honorifiques et a remporté des prix tels que le prix Jeanne Mance et le prix Lillian Carter Centre for International Nursing de l'Université Emory. Elle est décédée en janvier 2015. Verna et Richard se sont mariés en 1971 après le décès de la première épouse de Richard, Marion. Après leur déménagement à Vancouver, ils ont été des membres actifs de la congrégation University Hill de l'Église unie du Canada et ont entrepris ensemble une étude sur les postes d'infirmières en chef dans le monde entier, qui a donné lieu en 1994 à la publication intitulée Chief Nursing Officers in National Ministries of Health : Points sur le leadership infirmier. En 1996, ils ont reçu le tout premier doctorat honorifique conjoint de l'UBC.
Date(s): 
1936-2013
Étendue: 
7,12 m de documents textuels et autres documents
Province: 
BC
Organisation: 
Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Contact: 
chris.hives@ubc.ca
Haut de page