Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Susan Stevenson collection

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
2001.28
STEM Field: 
Biology
Description: 
Collection consists of 1 document on lichens entitled 'Common Lichen of the Prince George Area and Their Importance to Caribou,' prepared by Susan Stevenson for Northwood Pulp and Timber Limited, British Columbia Fish and Wildlife Branch.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Susan Stevenson is an independent wildlife biologist and an adjunct faculty member at UNBC. She has been studying the effects of forestry practices on habitat for wildlife for nearly 25 years, mostly in the Interior Wetbelt. She is especially interested in wildlife that depend on habitat attributes found in old forests, and how they can be maintained in managed stands. Her interest in the Mountain Caribou and its habitat has drawn her into studies of the ecology of arboreal lichens. She is also interested in wildlife trees, coarse woody debris, and how they are affected by various harvesting practices. As well as conducting research, Susan is active in teaching and extension. She is a Wildlife/Danger Tree Assessor's Course instructor and a frequent guest lecturer at UNBC and the College of New Caledonia. She has prepared a number of extension notes and other publications for forestry and habitat managers and field staff.
Date(s): 
1980
Extent: 
7.5 cm of textual records
Province: 
BC
Hosting Institution: 
University of Northern British Columbia
Collection Contact: 
archives@unbc.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Collection Susan Stevenson

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
2001.28
Métiers en STIM: 
Biologie
Description: 
La collection comprend un document sur les lichens intitulé 'Common Lichen of the Prince George Area and Their Importance to Caribou', préparé par Susan Stevenson pour Northwood Pulp and Timber Limited, British Columbia Fish and Wildlife Branch.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Susan Stevenson est biologiste indépendante de la faune et membre auxiliaire du corps professoral de l'UNBC. Elle étudie les effets des pratiques forestières sur l'habitat de la faune depuis près de 25 ans, principalement dans la zone humide intérieure. Elle s'intéresse particulièrement à la faune qui dépend des attributs de l'habitat que l'on trouve dans les vieilles forêts et à la façon dont on peut les maintenir dans les peuplements aménagés. Son intérêt pour le caribou des montagnes et son habitat l'a amenée à étudier l'écologie des lichens arboricoles. Elle s'intéresse également aux arbres sauvages, aux débris ligneux grossiers et à la façon dont ils sont affectés par diverses pratiques de récolte. En plus de mener des recherches, Susan est active dans l'enseignement et la vulgarisation. Elle est instructrice au cours d'évaluation de la faune et des arbres en péril et donne fréquemment des conférences à l'UNBC et au College of New Caledonia. Elle a préparé un certain nombre de notes de vulgarisation et d'autres publications à l'intention des gestionnaires des forêts et de l'habitat et du personnel de terrain.
Date(s): 
1980
Étendue: 
7,5 cm de documents textuels
Province: 
BC
Organisation: 
Université du Nord de la Colombie-Britannique
Contact: 
archives@unbc.ca
Haut de page