Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Edith Rowles Simpson fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
MG 85
STEM Field: 
Agriculture
Description: 
This fonds contains personal correspondence and professional and academic materials relating to Simpson's career at the University, including memorabilia relating to student life in the late 1920s and later material relating to the history of the College of Home Economics; as well as material pertaining to the life and activities of Simpson's sister, P.W. Rowles; husband, G.W. Simpson; and her husband's first wife, M. Simpson. The bulk of the material regarding M. Simpson is a collection of prints and printing blocks illustrating the campus of the University of Saskatchewan.
Biography/Administrative History: 
A native of Manchester, England, Edith C. Rowles Simpson was raised on a homestead on the Saskatchewan/Alberta border. She taught at a number of rural Saskatchewan schools prior to enrolling at the University of Saskatchewan where she won the Rutter prize for most distinguished graduate receiving her BHSc in 1932. She continued her education at the University of Wisconsin (MSc, 1939) and Columbia (EdD, 1956). Simpson joined the faculty of the Department of Women's Work, University of Saskatchewan, in 1932 serving in a number of positions throughout her career: supervisor of girls' work (1936); assistant professor in the College of Agriculture (1941); University Dean of Women (1944); assistant professor in the College of Home Economics (1950); and professor and Dean of Home Economics (1965-1972). In her extension work she conducted Farm Girls' Camps and Extension Short Courses. Her academic speciality was in food science, an area in which she taught, researched and published. In 1964 Simpson published the book Home Economics In Canada: Prologue To Change and also married historian and fellow professor G.W. Simpson. After spending her entire professional life at the U of S she retired in 1972, was named Dean Emeritus and was further honoured with the establishment of the Edith Rowles Simpson Lectureship. In 1993 the University of Saskatchewan honoured her again with a Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree. Dr. Simpson's professional affiliations included memberships in the Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canadian and American Dietetic Associations and Canadian Home Economics Association where she served as President. Among her many awards and honours are inductions into the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame in 1981 and the Order of Canada in 1987.
Date(s): 
1926-1997
Extent: 
2.6 metres of textual records and photographs
Province: 
SK
Hosting Institution: 
University of Saskatchewan
Collection Contact: 
ua.sc@usask.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Edith Rowles Simpson

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
MG 85
Métiers en STIM: 
Agriculture
Description: 
Ce fonds contient de la correspondance personnelle et des documents professionnels et scolaires relatifs à la carrière de Mme Simpson à l'Université. Il comprend également des souvenirs de sa vie étudiante à la fin des années 1920 et, plus tard, des documents relatifs à l'histoire du College of Home Economics. Il inclut des documents relatifs à la vie et aux activités de P.W. Rowles, la sœur de Mme Simpson, son mari, G.W. Simpson, et sa première épouse, M. Simpson. La majeure partie du matériel concernant M. Simpson est une collection d'estampes et de clichés illustrant le campus de l'Université de la Saskatchewan.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Native de Manchester, en Angleterre, Edith C. Rowles Simpson a grandi sur une propriété familiale à la frontière entre la Saskatchewan et l'Alberta. Elle a enseigné dans un certain nombre d'écoles rurales de la Saskatchewan avant de s'inscrire à l'Université de la Saskatchewan, où elle a remporté le prix Rutter pour le diplômé le plus distingué pour son baccalauréat en sciences humaines en 1932. Elle a poursuivi ses études à l'Université du Wisconsin (M.Sc., 1939) et à Columbia (EdD, 1956). Edith Simpson s'est jointe à la faculté du Département de travail des femmes de l'Université de la Saskatchewan en 1932 et a occupé plusieurs postes tout au long de sa carrière : superviseure du travail des filles (1936), professeure adjointe au College of Agriculture (1941), doyenne de la faculté des femmes (1944), professeur adjoint au College of Home Economics (1950) et professeur et doyenne du Home Economics (1965-1972). Dans le cadre de son travail de vulgarisation, elle a animé des camps pour agricultrices et des cours de vulgarisation de courte durée. Elle s'est spécialisée dans les sciences de l'alimentation, domaine dans lequel elle a enseigné, fait de la recherche et publié. En 1964, Simpson a publié le livre Home Economics In Canada : Prologue To Change, et a également épousé l'historien et collègue professeur G.W. Simpson. Après avoir passé toute sa vie professionnelle à l'Université de la Saskatchewan, elle a pris sa retraite en 1972, a été nommée doyenne émérite et s'est vu décerner le prix Edith Rowles Simpson. En 1993, l'Université de la Saskatchewan lui a décerné un doctorat honorifique en droit. Mme Simpson a été membre de l'Association des diététistes du Canada, de l'Association canadienne des diététistes et de l'Association canadienne d'économie familiale à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan, où elle a été présidente. Parmi les nombreux prix et distinctions qu'elle a reçus, mentionnons l'intronisation au Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame en 1981 et à l'Ordre du Canada en 1987.
Date(s): 
1926-1997
Étendue: 
2,6 metres de documents textuels et photographies
Province: 
SK
Organisation: 
Université de Saskatchewan
Contact: 
ua.sc@usask.ca
Haut de page