Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

E.G. Nisbet/C.M.R. Fowler fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
MG 103
STEM Field: 
Geology
Description: 
This fonds contains correspondence, minutes, reports, articles, drafts, notes, and clippings pertaining to the academic and personal lives of Nisbet and Fowler, and the research and findings of their colleagues in the international geological community. Specific topics include komatiities, plate tectonics, global warming, Third World debt, science education in Canada, Zimbabwe, Archaean geology, origin of life, and the environment.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Christine Mary Rutherford Fowler is the third generation in a family of scientists of extraordinarily high international reputation. Her main areas of research include seismic refraction, thermal models, sedimentary basins and continental crust. She is co-author with E.G. Nisbet on several papers: her latest book, 'The Solid Earth', quickly became the standard text in geophysics, and is used at MIT and CalTech, etc.
Date(s): 
1969-1992
Extent: 
4.4 m of textual records and machine readable records
Province: 
SK
Hosting Institution: 
University of Saskatchewan
Collection Contact: 
ua.sc@usask.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds E.G. Nisbet/C.M.R. Fowler

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
MG 103
Métiers en STIM: 
Géologie
Description: 
Ce fonds contient de la correspondance, des procès-verbaux, des rapports, des articles, des ébauches, des notes et des coupures de presse portant sur la vie universitaire et personnelle de Nisbet et Fowler, ainsi que sur les recherches et les conclusions de leurs collègues de la communauté géologique internationale. Les sujets spécifiques incluent les komatiités, la tectonique des plaques, le réchauffement climatique, la dette du tiers monde, l'éducation scientifique au Canada, le Zimbabwe, la géologie archéenne, l'origine de la vie et l'environnement.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Christine Mary Rutherford Fowler est la troisième génération d'une famille de scientifiques de réputation internationale extraordinaire. Ses principaux domaines de recherche comprennent la réfraction sismique, les modèles thermiques, les bassins sédimentaires et la croûte continentale. Elle est co-auteure avec E.G. Nisbet de plusieurs articles : son dernier livre, 'The Solid Earth', est rapidement devenu le texte standard en géophysique, et est utilisé au MIT et CalTech, etc.
Date(s): 
1969-1992
Étendue: 
4,4 m de documents textuels et documents lisible par ordinateur
Province: 
SK
Organisation: 
Université de Saskatchewan
Contact: 
ua.sc@usask.ca
Haut de page