Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Catherine Taylor fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
WA 7
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
Fonds consists of material accumulated by Catherine Taylor throughout her career as a nurse. Includes correspondence, certificates, clippings, an autograph book, and other material. Correspondents include Viscountess Eleanor Sandhurst, wife of the Lord High Chamberlain of England and Lady-in-Waiting to the Queen, and Sir Thomas J. Lipton.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Catherine Taylor (1874-1967) was a nurse in the US and England. She was born on June 11, 1874 in Clinton, Ontario. She graduated from St. Luke's Hospital, N.Y. and was head nurse in the Private Pavilion at that Hospital. In 1917 she went to England, and was given charge of a hospital at Shipstone on the Stour near Stratford-on-Avon for the British Red Cross. She assisted in opening a hospital in Liverpool for the American Army and converted the Guest Mansion in London into a showplace Navy hospital in 23 days. In 1918 she returned to the United States and assisted in combatting the influenza epidemic. In 1920 the American Red Cross sent her to New Mexico to initiate public health programs in the schools there. Later, in California, she taught health and hygiene, organized summer camps for underprivileged children and qualified as a state audiometrist. In 1951 she moved to Ontario, California. She died February 1967 in Barrie, Ontario.
Date(s): 
1899, 1917-1967
Extent: 
6 cm of textual records
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
University of Waterloo
Collection Contact: 
library.scaref@uwaterloo.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Catherine Taylor

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
WA 7
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de documents accumulés par Catherine Taylor tout au long de sa carrière d'infirmière. Il comprend de la correspondance, des certificats, des coupures de presse, un livre d'autographes et d'autres documents. Parmi les correspondants figurent la vicomtesse Eleanor Sandhurst, épouse du Lord Haut Chambellan d'Angleterre et dame d'honneur de la Reine, et Sir Thomas J. Lipton.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Catherine Taylor (1874-1967) était infirmière aux États-Unis et en Angleterre. Elle est née le 11 juin 1874 à Clinton, en Ontario. Elle est diplômée de l'hôpital St. Luke's, N.Y. et a été infirmière en chef du pavillon privé de l'hôpital. En 1917, elle se rendit en Angleterre et fut chargée d'un hôpital à Shipstone on the Stour près de Stratford-on-Avon pour la Croix-Rouge britannique. Elle a participé à l'ouverture d'un hôpital à Liverpool pour l'armée américaine et a transformé le Guest Mansion à Londres en un hôpital de la marine en 23 jours. En 1918, elle retourne aux États-Unis et participe à la lutte contre l'épidémie de grippe. En 1920, la Croix-Rouge américaine l'envoie au Nouveau-Mexique pour mettre sur pied des programmes de santé publique dans les écoles du pays. Plus tard, en Californie, elle a enseigné la santé et l'hygiène, organisé des camps d'été pour les enfants défavorisés et obtenu un diplôme d'audiomètriste d'État. En 1951, elle s'installe à Ontario en Californie. Elle est décédée en février 1967 à Barrie, en Ontario.
Date(s): 
1899, 1917-1967
Étendue: 
6 cm de documents textuels
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Université de Waterloo
Contact: 
library.scaref@uwaterloo.ca
Haut de page