Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Dorothea Palmer collection

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
WA17
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
Collection consists of F.W. Wegenast's material relating to the trial of Dorothea Palmer. It contains correspondence, manuscripts, typescripts of court examinations, arguments used in court, research materials, documents, printed and published items, and clippings relating to the case Rex vs. Palmer.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Dorothea Palmer was born 1908 in England and had some training in a hospital in England. She was employed as a nurse by the Parents' Information Bureau of Kitchener, Ont. to visit homes of those known to be poor or relatively poor, and to offer to needy mothers the opportunity of applying for certain contraceptive materials. Miss Palmer was arrested at Eastview, an Ottawa suburb, as she was leaving the home of a French Roman Catholic family which was on relief and had a large number of children. The mother had telephoned Miss Palmer and asked her to call. Miss Palmer was arrested on the charge of distributing birth control information and contraceptive devices. The trial occupied nineteen days of testimony and four of argument, and during which forty witnesses were examined. The case was a remarkable one in that the decision overruled religious and medical objections to the dissemination of birth control information. Dorothea Palmer was acquitted March 17, 1937 after a trial that extended over a period of six months. The Crown appealed the case which was heard on the 1st and 2nd of June 1937, by the Court of Appeal for Ontario, presided over by the Chief Justice of Ontario and two Associate Judges. The Appeal was dismissed without Defence Counsel being called. Dorothea died in 1992.
Date(s): 
1936-1937
Extent: 
1.3 m of textual records
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
University of Waterloo
Collection Contact: 
library.scaref@uwaterloo.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Collection Dorothea Palmer

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
WA17
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
La collection comprend les documents de F.W. Wegenast concernant le procès de Dorothea Palmer. Il contient de la correspondance, des manuscrits, des copies dactylographiées d'examens judiciaires, des arguments utilisés en cour, des documents de recherche, des articles imprimés et publiés et des coupures de presse concernant l'affaire Rex contre Palmer.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Dorothea Palmer est née en 1908 en Angleterre et a suivi une formation dans un hôpital en Angleterre. Elle a été employée comme infirmière par le Bureau d'information des parents de Kitchener, en Ontario, pour visiter les maisons de personnes reconnues pour être pauvres ou relativement pauvres, et pour offrir aux mères dans le besoin la possibilité de demander certains matériaux contraceptifs. Dorothea Palmer a été arrêtée à Eastview, une banlieue d'Ottawa, alors qu'elle quittait le domicile d'une famille catholique romaine française qui était en détresse et qui avait un grand nombre d'enfants. Mlle Palmer a été arrêtée pour distribution d'informations contraceptives et d'instruments contraceptifs. Le procès a été constitué de dix-neuf jours de témoignages et quatre jours de plaidoiries au cours desquels quarante témoins ont été interrogés. Il s'agissait d'un cas remarquable en ce sens que la décision a rejeté les objections religieuses et médicales à la diffusion d'information sur le contrôle des naissances. Dorothea Palmer a été acquittée le 17 mars 1937 après un procès qui s'est étendu sur une période de six mois. La Couronne a interjeté en appel de l'affaire qui a été entendue les 1er et 2 juin 1937 par la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario, présidée par le juge en chef de l'Ontario et deux juges associés. L'appel a été rejeté sans que l'avocat de la défense ait été appelé. Dorothea est décédée en 1992.
Date(s): 
1936-1937
Étendue: 
1,3 m de documents textuels
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Université de Waterloo
Contact: 
library.scaref@uwaterloo.ca
Haut de page