Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Marie Stopes collection

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
GA 84
STEM Field: 
Medicine
Description: 
File consists of materials relating to the personal and professional life of Marie Stopes as well as to the history of birth control. Includes biographical materials, articles and ephemera related to birth control, correspondence, and ms. drafts of a biography of Stopes. Included as Section 7 are the research notes compiled by Stopes' biographer, Ruth Hall. These notes were presented to the Library by Dr. John Griffin, who had received them from Hall.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Marie Charlotte Carmichael Stopes was born in Edinburgh, Scotland in 1880 and died there in 1958. Educated in Edinburgh, London and graduated with her Ph.D. from Munich, she was the first woman appointed to the science staff at the University of Manchester in 1904. Jointly with her husband H.V. Roe she founded the Mother's Clinic for Constructive Birth Control in 1921. It was the first birth control clinic in the world. She also published two books, 'Married Love' and 'Wise Parenthood: a Book for Married People.'
Date(s): 
1911-1985
Extent: 
47 cm of textual records
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
University of Waterloo
Collection Contact: 
library.scaref@uwaterloo.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Collection Marie Stopes

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
GA 84
Métiers en STIM: 
Médecine
Description: 
Le dossier est constitué de documents relatifs à la vie personnelle et professionnelle de Marie Stopes ainsi qu'à l'histoire de la contraception. Il comprend du matériel biographique, des articles et des documents éphémères liés à la contraception, de la correspondance et des ébauches d'une biographie des Stopes. La section 7 comprend les notes de recherche compilées par Ruth Hall, biographe de M. Stopes. Ces notes ont été présentées à la bibliothèque par le Dr John Griffin, qui les avait reçues de Hall.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Marie Charlotte Carmichael Stopes est née à Édimbourg, en Écosse, en 1880 et y est morte en 1958. Elle a fait ses études à Édimbourg, à Londres, et a obtenu son doctorat à Munich. Elle a été la première femme nommée à l'équipe scientifique de l'Université de Manchester en 1904. Avec son mari H.V. Roe, elle a fondé en 1921 la clinique maternelle pour le contrôle constructif des naissances. C'était la première clinique de contraception au monde. Elle a également publié deux livres, 'Married Love' et 'Wise Parenthood : a Book for Married People.'
Date(s): 
1911-1985
Étendue: 
47 cm de documents textuels
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Université de Waterloo
Contact: 
library.scaref@uwaterloo.ca
Haut de page