Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Nancy B. Kennedy-Reid fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
RC0492
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The fonds consists of three scrapbooks containing among other things: mimeographs of daily orders, and nominal rolls; photographs, including wounded soldiers after the Dieppe raid, hospitals, British countryside scenes, and Italian scenes including the Amalfi coast and Rome letters and cards newsletters, newspapers, including The Maple Leaf and The Red Patch and news clippings, programs, invitations, realia, including medals, identification bracelet, and a piece of shrapnel.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Nancy Kennedy-Reid was born in Carnarvon, North Wales, on 2 August 1902 and educated in England. She emigrated to Canada in 1926 and trained as a nurse at the Montreal General Hospital in 1929. She travelled with The Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada to England in December 1940. Once there she worked as an Assistant Matron, Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps (R.C.A.M.C.) at No. 1 Canadian Hospital, Marston Green. The hospital moved to Hailsham, Sussex two years later. In June 1942 she was promoted to Matron. In November 1943 she was posted to No. 1 Canadian General Hospital, Andria, Italy, later moving to Rome. She returned to England in August 1944 to serve at No. 23 Canadian General Hospital, Leavesden, near Watford. Kennedy-Reid was appointed a member of the Royal Red Cross by George V. She returned to Canada on 1 January 1946 where she became the director of nursing at St. Anne's Hospital, St. Anne de Bellevue, Quebec. She retired in 1967.
Date(s): 
1940-1971
Extent: 
9 cm of textual records
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
McMaster University
Collection Contact: 
archives@mcmaster.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Nancy B. Kennedy-Reid

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
RC0492
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de trois albums de coupures contenant, entre autres, des documents miméographiés d'ordres quotidiens et de listes nominales; des photographies de soldats blessés après le raid de Dieppe, d’hôpitaux, de la campagne britannique et de scènes italiennes telles que la côte Amalfi et Rome; des lettres; des cartes; des bulletins; des coupures de presses et des journaux dont The Maple Leaf et The Red Patch; des émissions; des invitations ; des realia dont des médailles, un bracelet d'identification et des fragments d'éclat.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Nancy Kennedy-Reid est née à Carnarvon, dans le nord du Pays de Galles, le 2 août 1902 et a étudié en Angleterre. Elle émigre au Canada en 1926 et se forme comme infirmière à l'Hôpital général de Montréal en 1929. Elle voyage avec les Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada en Angleterre en décembre 1940. Une fois là-bas, elle a travaillé comme assistante matrone, Corps de santé royal canadien (R.C.A.M.C.C.) à l'Hôpital canadien no 1, à Marston Green. L'hôpital déménagea à Hailsham, Sussex, deux ans plus tard. En juin 1942, elle fut promue au poste de matrone. En novembre 1943, elle est affectée à l'Hôpital général canadien no 1, à Andria, en Italie, puis déménage à Rome. Elle retourne en Angleterre en août 1944 pour servir à l'Hôpital général canadien no 23, Leavesden, près de Watford. Kennedy-Reid fut nommée membre de la Croix-Rouge royale par George V. Elle revint au Canada le 1er janvier 1946 où elle devint directrice des soins infirmiers à l'Hôpital Sainte-Anne de Bellevue, Québec. Elle a pris sa retraite en 1967.
Date(s): 
1940-1971
Étendue: 
9 cm de documents textuels
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Université McMaster
Contact: 
archives@mcmaster.ca
Haut de page