Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Gabrielle Clerk fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
P 331
STEM Field: 
Psychology
Description: 
This fonds documents Gabrielle Clerk's academic and professional career. It contains course files: syllabus, course notes, examples of assignments and examinations, documents relating to the evaluation and recommendation of students. It includes documents relating to educational activities and initiatives, files relating to participation in committees, conventions, and conferences. The fonds includes records concerning the Department of Psychology and the organization of the Counselling Service. There are also files on activities outside the Université de Montréal, research files, publication files and correspondence with various francophone institutions. The fonds also contains résumés, documents of appointment to the Université de Montréal, certificates of employment and the text of Ms. Clerk's doctoral thesis on the short-comings of the use of interviews and Rorschach test. Finally, there are diplomas and certificates, photographs of participation in the International Congress of Psychoanalysis in Vienna (1971), as well as other documents attesting to her professional activities.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Gabrielle Clerk (1923-2012) was born on June 30, 1923. She graduated from the University of Ottawa with a Bachelor's degree in 1944. She received a doctorate in psychology from the Université de Montréal in 1953. While at the Université de Montréal, Ms. Clerk began her teaching career at the Institute of Psychology as a part-time professor. In 1949, she was alternately assistant professor and associate professor. She became a full-time professor in 1960 and obtained her agrégation in 1966. Finally, she was appointed Professor Emeritus in 1987. Ms. Clerk was the first woman of Quebec and Canadian origin to graduate from the Canadian Institute of Psychoanalysis (1968). She participated significantly in the activities of this organization through the training of children's analysts. She also became involved in this field as a consultant at the Montreal Children's Hospital and participated in the training of mental health professionals at McGill University. She was a member of many provincial and national professional association committees and commissions. The contents of her teachings focused on projective techniques, child and adolescent psychopathology; psychoanalytic intervention with children and adolescents. She also conducted research seminars on women's aggressiveness and psychosexuality.
Date(s): 
1933-2004
Extent: 
71 cm of textual documents, several photographs and diplomas
Province: 
QC
Hosting Institution: 
University of Montreal
Collection Contact: 
reference@archiv.umontreal.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Gabrielle Clerk

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
P 331
Métiers en STIM: 
Psychologie
Description: 
Le fonds témoigne essentiellement de la carrière universitaire et professionnelle de Gabrielle Clerk. Il contient des dossiers de cours : syllabus, notes de cours, exemples de travaux et d'examens, des documents relatifs à l'évaluation et la recommandation des étudiants. Il comprend des documents relatifs aux activités et initiatives pédagogiques, des dossiers relatifs à la participation à des comités, congrès et conférences. Le fonds comprend également des documents concernant le Département de psychologie et l'organisation du Service de consultation. On retrouve également des dossiers sur des activités menées à l'extérieur de l'Université de Montréal, des dossiers de recherches, des dossiers de publications et de la correspondance avec diverses institutions francophones. Le fonds contient aussi des curriculum vitae, des documents de nomination à l'Université de Montréal, des attestations d'emplois et le texte de la thèse de doctorat de Mme Clerk sur la myopie. Mme Clerk a réalisé des entrevues et utilisé le test de Rorschach dans le cadre de ses recherches doctorales. On trouve finalement des diplômes et certificats, des photographies concernant sa participation au Congrès International de Psychanalyse à Vienne (1971), ainsi que d'autres documents témoignant de ses activités professionnelles.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Gabrielle Clerk (1923-2012) est née le 30 juin 1923. Elle est diplômée de l'Université d'Ottawa, où elle obtient un baccalauréat (1944). Elle reçoit un doctorat en psychologie de l'Université de Montréal en 1953. À l'Université de Montréal, Gabrielle Clerk a commencé sa carrière d'enseignement à l'institut de psychologie comme professeure à temps partiel. En 1949, elle est tour à tour assistante professeur et professeure agrégée. Elle devient professeure à temps plein en 1960, et obtient son agrégation en 1966. Puis, elle est nommée professeure émérite à compter de 1987. Gabrielle Clerk fut la première femme d'origine québécoise et canadienne à être diplômée de l'Institut canadien de psychanalyse (1968) . Elle a participé de façon significative aux activités de cette société par la formation d'analystes d'enfants. Elle s'est également impliquée dans ce domaine comme consultante à l'Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, et participé à l'Université McGill à la formation des professionnels en santé mentale. Elle a participé à de nombreux comités et commissions d'associations professionnelles provinciales et nationales. Les contenus de ses enseignements portent sur les techniques projectives, la psychopathologie de l'enfant et de l'adolescent; l'intervention psychanalytique avec les enfants et les adolescents. Elle a également dirigé des séminaires de recherche sur l'agressivité et la psychosexualité de la femme.
Date(s): 
1933-2004
Étendue: 
71 cm de documents textuels, plusieurs photographies et diplômes
Province: 
QC
Organisation: 
Université de Montréal
Contact: 
reference@archiv.umontreal.ca
Haut de page