Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Kaye Kerr fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Graphic material
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
17.013
STEM Field: 
Psychology
Description: 
Fonds reflects two key facets of Dr. Kerr’s career with the University of Winnipeg, and is divided into two corresponding series. First is her role in the Faculty Association’s Committee on the Status of Women, a body that examined gendered discrimination, particularly in terms of salary, among the University’s faculty and staff. The second is her involvement in the fields of childhood psychology and child care: both her administrative and scholarly activities through the University of Winnipeg’s Developmental Studies program, as well as her participation on government committees such as the Child Care Education Program Approval Committee. Fonds is divided into two series that correspond to these two facets. The first series is comprised primarily of records from the surveys conducted by the Committee on the Status of Women, including data and the compilations and reports generated therewith. It also includes some research materials related to the status of women. The second series is comprised of correspondence, records of meetings, and reports, primarily generated by the University of Winnipeg Department of Psychology and Senate and the Manitoba Department of Education. Also includes some research materials related to child psychology and child care.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Dr. M. Kaye Kerr received her B.A. in Zoology and her M.A. and Ph.D. in Child Development, all from the University of Minnesota. Her teaching career also began there as an Instructor, 1964-1967. Afterwards she worked as a psychologist in a variety of international institutions until coming to the University of Winnipeg as a Lecturer in Psychology in 1969. In 1970 she was appointed Coordinator of the Developmental Studies program, a position she remained in until 1989. She was later made Director of that program from 1992-1998. In that position, she initiated the University's Child Studies Centre in 1971 and its Child Care Training Program starting in 1983. Dr. Kerr retired from the University of Winnipeg in 2001.
Date(s): 
1970-2004
Extent: 
0.39 m of textual records, 0.02 m of photographs
Province: 
MB
Hosting Institution: 
University of Winnipeg
Collection Contact: 
b.lougheed@uwinnipeg.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Kaye Kerr

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Document iconographique
Reference : 
17.013
Métiers en STIM: 
Psychologie
Description: 
Le fonds reflète deux facettes clés de la carrière du Dr. Kerr à l'Université de Winnipeg. La première facette concerne son rôle dans l'Association universitaire au sein du Comité sur la Condition de la Femme, entitée qui examine la discrimination fondée sur le sexe, en particulier en terme de salaire, au sein des facultés et du personnel. La deuxième facette de la carrière du Dr. Kerr porte sur son implication dans les domaines de la psychologie de l'enfant et des services de garde. Les documents témoignent de ses activités administratives et scolaires dans le cadre du programme d'études du développement de l'Université de Winnipeg. Ils soulignent également sa participation à des comités gouvernementaux tels que le Comité d'approbation du programme d'éducation en garderie. Le fonds est divisé en deux séries qui correspondent à ces deux facettes. La première série comprend principalement des documents provenant des enquêtes menées par le Comité de la Condition de la Femme, y compris des données, des compilations et des rapports qui en sont tirés. On y trouve également des documents de recherche sur la condition de la femme. La deuxième série comprend de la correspondance, des comptes rendus de réunions et des rapports, principalement produits par le Département de psychologie, le Sénat de l'Université de Winnipeg et le ministère de l'Éducation du Manitoba. Cette série comprend également certains documents de recherche liés à la psychologie de l'enfant et aux services de garde d'enfants.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
M. Kaye Kerr est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en zoologie et d'une maîtrise et d'un doctorat en développement de l'enfant de l'Université du Minnesota. Elle débuta sa carrière d'enseignement à l'Université du Minnesota de 1964 à 1967. Par la suite, elle a travaillé comme psychologue dans diverses institutions internationales jusqu'à son arrivée à l'Université de Winnipeg comme chargée de cours en psychologie en 1969. En 1970, elle a été nommée coordonnatrice du programme d'études du développement, poste qu'elle a occupé jusqu'en 1989. Elle a par la suite été nommée directrice de ce programme de 1992 à 1998. À ce titre, elle a mis sur pied le Centre d'études sur l'enfance de l'Université en 1971 et le Programme de formation en garde d'enfants de l'Université, qui a débuté en 1983. M. Kerr a pris sa retraite de l'Université de Winnipeg en 2001.
Date(s): 
1970-2004
Étendue: 
0,39 m de documents textuels, 0,02 m de photographies
Province: 
MB
Organisation: 
Université de Winnipeg
Contact: 
b.lougheed@uwinnipeg.ca
Haut de page