Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Kate Braid fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
F-10
STEM Field: 
Trades and Technology
Description: 
Fonds consists of records relating to Braid's life and work as a student, teacher, carpenter, and writer. The first five series from Braid's first donation in 1995 are comprised primarily of interview material relating to Canadian women in trades, in the form of sound recordings, transcripts, notes, and drafts of profiles generated by Kate Braid in the course of four projects: her Master's thesis (1978-1979); a convention in Holland and subsequent trip to Denmark (1984); the Labour Canada booklets (1988); and the CBC Ideas program (1990). Also includes some correspondence, logbooks and published reference material. The next series from several additional accruals in 2009 to 2013 consist of records arising from many aspects of Braid's life. These records include drafts and notes from Braid's writing, projects for CBC Ideas, women in trades, her company, Sisters Construction, and other writing and teaching projects. There is also a large series of correspondence, including letters and emails (printed out) between Braid and other writers, her family, and business correspondents. Finally, there is a series of Braid's diaries, which she has kept regularly from the 1960s to 2012.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Kate Braid is a Vancouver poet, carpenter, trade unionist and educator. Born in Calgary, Alberta and raised in Montreal, Que, Braid received a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and history from Mount Allison University in 1967. In 1979 she earned her Master of Arts degree in the Communications Department at Simon Fraser University with a thesis entitled Invisible Women: Women in Non-Traditional Occupations in B.C. Meanwhile, she had begun working in the construction industry herself, and in 1983 received her Interprovincial Trades Qualification and Apprenticeship Certificate (Red Seal) for carpentry construction from the Pacific Vocational Institute (later renamed the British Columbia Institute of Technology or BCIT). She was the first woman member of teh Vancouver local of the International Carpenters' Union (Local 452, later 1995). In 1997 she earned her Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing at the University of British Columbia. She continued to work in trades until 1989, forming her own company, Sisters Construction (1983-1987). Kate Braid was a founding member of the Vancouver Women in Trades Association, an advocacy and support organization that existed from 1979 to 1987. Braid has written extensively on women and trades, including two booklets profiling Canadian tradeswomen for the Women's Bureau of Labour Canada. In addition, she prepared radio documentaries for the CBC's Ideas radio program. She has taught numerous courses and workshops since 1980, and in 1989 became the first full-time woman instructor in construction carpentry at BCIT. From 1991 to 1995, as Director of Labour Programs at SFU, she served as a liaison between academia and labour. Braid has also taught creative writing at Malaspina College (now Vancouver Island University), SFU and UBC. Her poems and other writings have appeared in many journals and anthologies, and have been broadcast on radio and television. Her first collection of her poetry, Covering Rough Ground, won the Pat Lowther Memorial Prize in 1991. Her next collection, To this Cedar Fountain, was shortlisted for the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize in 1995. Her other publications include: Red Bait: Struggles of a Mine Local (1998), Inward to the Bones: Georgia O'Keeffe's Journey with Emily Carr (1998), Emily Carr: Rebel Artist (2000), In Fine Form: The Canadian Book of Form Poetry (2005), A Well-Mannered Storm: the Glenn Gould poems (2008), Turning Left to the Ladies (2009), and her prose memoir 'Journeywoman: Swinging a Hammer in a Man's World' (2012). She and her partner live in Vancouver, BC.
Date(s): 
1963-2013
Extent: 
9.08 m of textual records, 180 sound recordings (includes original and access copies), 1 photograph
Province: 
BC
Hosting Institution: 
Simon Fraser University
Collection Contact: 
archives@sfu.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Kate Braid

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
F-10
Métiers en STIM: 
Métiers et technologie
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de documents relatifs à la vie et au travail de Braid en tant qu'étudiant, enseignant, menuisier et écrivain. Les cinq premières séries du premier don de Braid en 1995 sont principalement composées de matériel d'entrevues portant sur les femmes canadiennes dans les métiers. Les documents sont des enregistrements sonores, des transcriptions, des notes et de brouillons de profils produits par Kate Braid dans le cadre de quatre projets : son mémoire de maîtrise (1978-1979) ; un congrès aux Pays-Bas et un voyage ultérieur au Danemark (1984) ; les brochures Travail Canada (1988) ; le programme Idées CBC (1990). Le fonds contient également une série importante consacrée à la correspondance, des journaux de bord et des documents de référence publiés. La série suivante constituée de plusieurs ajouts au fonds effectués entre 2009 et 2013, est constituée de documents découlant de nombreux aspects de la vie de Braid. Elle comprend des ébauches et des notes tirées des écrits de Braid, ainsi que des projets pour CBC Ideas, Women in trades, sa compagnie, Sisters Construction, et d'autres projets de rédaction et d'enseignement. Il y a aussi une série importante consacrée à la correspondance de Braid avec d'autres écrivains, sa famille et des correspondants commerciaux. Cette série contient des lettres et des courriels (imprimés). Enfin, une série consacrée aux journaux intimes de Braid tenus des années 1960 à 2012, complète le fonds.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Kate Braid est poète, menuisière, syndicaliste et éducatrice à Vancouver. Née à Calgary, en Alberta, et élevée à Montréal, au Québec, Braid a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en anglais et en histoire de l'Université Mount Allison en 1967. En 1979, elle a obtenu sa maîtrise ès arts au département des communications de l'Université Simon Fraser avec une thèse intitulée Invisible Women : Women in Non-Traditional Occupations in B.C. Entre-temps, elle avait elle-même commencé à travailler dans l'industrie de la construction et, en 1983, elle a reçu son certificat interprovincial de qualification professionnelle et d'apprentissage (Sceau rouge) pour la construction en menuiserie du Pacific Vocational Institute (rebaptisé par la suite British Columbia Institute of Technology ou BCIT). Elle a été la première femme membre de la section locale de Vancouver de l'Union internationale des menuisiers (section locale 452, plus tard en 1995). En 1997, elle a obtenu une maîtrise en beaux-arts avec spécialisation en création littéraire à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle a continué à travailler dans les métiers jusqu'en 1989, créant sa propre entreprise, Sisters Construction (1983-1987). Kate Braid a été membre fondatrice de la Vancouver Women in Trades Association, un organisme de défense et de soutien qui a existé de 1979 à 1987. Mme Braid a beaucoup écrit sur les femmes et les métiers, y compris deux livrets décrivant des femmes de métiers canadiennes pour le Bureau de Travail des femmes du Canada. De plus, elle a préparé des documentaires radiophoniques pour l'émission de radio Ideas de la CBC. Elle a enseigné de nombreux cours et ateliers depuis 1980 et, en 1989, elle est devenue la première enseignante à temps plein en menuiserie de construction au BCIT. De 1991 à 1995, à titre de directrice des programmes du travail à l'Université Simon Fraser, elle a assuré la liaison entre le milieu universitaire et les syndicats. M. Braid a également enseigné la création littéraire au Malaspina College (maintenant l'Université de l'île de Vancouver), à la SFU et à l'UBC. Ses poèmes et autres écrits ont paru dans de nombreuses revues et anthologies, et ont été diffusés à la radio et à la télévision. Son premier recueil de poésie, Covering Rough Ground, a remporté le prix Pat Lowther Memorial en 1991. Sa collection suivante, To this Cedar Fountain, a été présélectionnée pour le Prix Dorothy Livesay de poésie en 1995. Ses autres publications comprennent : Red Bait : Struggles of a Mine Local (1998), Inward to the Bones : Georgia O'Keeffe's Journey with Emily Carr (1998), Emily Carr : Artiste rebelle (2000), In Fine Form : The Canadian Book of Form Poetry (2005), A Well-Mannered Storm : the Glenn Gould poems (2008), Turning Left to the Ladies (2009), et ses mémoires en prose 'Journeywoman : Swing a Hammer in a Man's World' (2012). Elle et son partenaire vivent à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.
Date(s): 
1963-2013
Étendue: 
9,08 m de documents textuels, 180 document sonores, 1 photographie
Province: 
BC
Organisation: 
Université Simon Fraser
Contact: 
archives@sfu.ca
Haut de page