Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Ada Funnell fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
F01563
STEM Field: 
Medicine
Description: 
The fonds consists of a few pieces of correspondence pertaining to Dr. Funnell's death as well as her certification by the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario; plus a crayon portrait of her as a young woman. There are also certificates and diplomas from her time at Queen's Univeristy, notebooks containing medicinal recipes, autographs and bible studies, and photographs of Ada and her sister Rose. Also included are two syringe cases, with syringes, a silver prescription scale by Dr. C.H. Fitch and a portable electro-medical apparatus, patented by A. Gaiffe, philosophical instrument maker.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Dr. Ada Funnell matriculated in Arts at Queen's University in 1882. She went on to become one of four women doctors to graduate from Queen's University Medical College in 1887. During her time at Queen's she was awarded scholarships every year. After graduation she went to New York for the period of one year in order to pursue post graduate work and upon her return to Canada she went into practice in Hamilton, Ontario. Within two years returned home to Trenton, where her ailing parents were residing, in order to care for them. Dr. Ada Funnell dies in december of 1904.
Date(s): 
1880-1895
Extent: 
0.12 m of textual records, 4 photographs, 4 objects
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
Queen's University
Collection Contact: 
archives@queensu.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Ada Funnell

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
F01563
Métiers en STIM: 
Médecine
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de quelques pièces de correspondance concernant le décès du Dr Funnell et sa certification par l'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, ainsi que d'un portrait au crayon de couleur de la jeune femme. Il y a aussi des certificats et des diplômes de l'Université Queen's, des carnets de notes contenant des recettes médicinales, des autographes et des études bibliques, et des photographies d'Ada et de sa sœur Rose. Sont également inclus deux étuis à seringues avec seringues, une balance de prescription en argent du Dr C.H.H. Fitch et un appareil électromédical portable, breveté par A. Gaiffe, facteur d'instruments philosophiques.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Ada Funnell s'est inscrite en arts à l'Université Queen's en 1882. Elle est ensuite devenue l'une des quatre femmes médecins diplômées du Queen's University Medical College en 1887. Pendant son séjour à Queen's, elle a reçu des bourses d'études chaque année. Après l'obtention de son diplôme, elle s'est rendue à New York pour une période d'un an afin de poursuivre des études supérieures et, à son retour au Canada, elle a commencé à pratiquer à Hamilton, en Ontario. Deux ans plus tard, elle est retournée chez elle à Trenton, où ses parents en difficulté résidaient, afin de s'occuper d'eux. Ada Funnell meurt en décembre 1904.
Date(s): 
1880-1895
Étendue: 
0,12 m de documents textuels, 4 photographies, 4 objets
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Université Queen's
Contact: 
archives@queensu.ca
Haut de page