Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Allie Vibert Douglas fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
F01197
STEM Field: 
Astrophysics
Description: 
The fonds consists of correspondence, lecture notes, speeches, articles, and memoirs as Professor of Astronomy and Dean of Women (1939-59) at Queen's University; President of the International Federation of University Women. Included is an article by Douglas titled, 'Symbols in Stone' which was printed in the Queen's Review August, 1952. Also included is correspondence with Albert Einstein and others concerning Sir Arthur Eddington.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Allie (also addressed as Alice) Vibert Douglas, distinguished academic, astrophysicist and dean of women, was born in 1894 in Montreal. She received her B.A and M.Sc. from McGill in 1920 and 1921. An interval as statistician at the British War Office during World War I earned her the M.B.E. In 1925 she received her Ph.D. in astronomy. For fourteen years, 1925-1939, Dr. Douglas taught at McGill, then moved to Queen's where she served as Dean of Women from 1939 to 1959 and Professor of Astronomy from 1946. She retired in 1964. Dr. Douglas championed the role of women in education and worked hard to raise their status. She was the first Canadian to be president of the International Federation of University Women and served from 1947 to 1950. She was also the first woman president of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada. She received honorary degrees from McGill, Queen's and Queensland Universities and was made an officer of the Order of Canada in 1967. Dr. Douglas died in 1988 and in her honour astronomers named a recently discovered planet 'Vibert Douglas'.
Date(s): 
1920-1988
Extent: 
4.5 m of textual records, 28 photographs
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
Queen's University
Collection Contact: 
archives@queensu.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Allie Vibert Douglas

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
F01197
Métiers en STIM: 
Astrophysique
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de correspondance, de notes de cours, de discours, d'articles et de mémoires du professeur d'astronomie et doyen des femmes (1939-1959) de l'Université Queen's, président de la Fédération internationale des femmes universitaires. On y trouve un article de Douglas intitulé 'Symbols in Stone' qui a été publié dans la Queen's Review en août 1952. On y trouve également de la correspondance avec Albert Einstein et d'autres personnes au sujet de Sir Arthur Eddington.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Allie (aussi appelée Alice) Vibert Douglas, éminente universitaire, astrophysicienne et doyenne des femmes, est née en 1894 à Montréal. Elle a obtenu son baccalauréat et sa maîtrise ès sciences de McGill en 1920 et 1921. Un intervalle comme statisticienne au British War Office pendant la Première Guerre mondiale lui a valu le M.B.E. En 1925, elle a obtenu son doctorat en astronomie. Pendant quatorze ans, de 1925 à 1939, Dre Douglas a enseigné à McGill, puis elle a déménagé à Queen's où elle a été doyenne des femmes de 1939 à 1959 et professeur d'astronomie de 1946. Elle a pris sa retraite en 1964. Dre Douglas encouragea du rôle des femmes dans l'éducation et a travaillé fort pour améliorer leur statut. Elle a été la première Canadienne à être présidente de la Fédération internationale des femmes diplômées des universités et a servi de 1947 à 1950. Elle a également été la première femme présidente de la Société royale d'astronomie du Canada. Elle a reçu des doctorats honorifiques des universités McGill, Queen's et Queensland et a été nommée officier de l'Ordre du Canada en 1967. Dr. Douglas est décédée en 1988 et, en son honneur, des astronomes ont baptisé une planète récemment découverte 'Vibert Douglas'.
Date(s): 
1920-1988
Étendue: 
4,5 m de documents textuels, 28 photographies
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Université Queen's
Contact: 
archives@queensu.ca
Haut de page