Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Calgary General Hospital School of Nursing fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
M-2048, M-2456, M-9231, PA-1672, NA-1066 […]
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The fonds consists of administrative records: policies, annual reports, organizational charts, briefs and papers, minutes, personnel records, committee minutes and reports, enrollment statistics and forms, and budgets; curriculum records: calendars, student evaluations, studies and course outlines; and student affairs records: student council minutes, reports and financial statements; and School of Nursing Alumni records. Includes newsclippings, scrapbooks, and photographs (1897-1967) of nurses residence, faculty, students, school and hospital.
Biography/Administrative History: 
The Calgary General Hospital School of Nursing of Calgary, Alberta had its origins in 1895 when the first 'probationer' Marion Moodie, was admitted to the hospital training school. The first full-time instructor, Miss B. Rutherford, was appointed in 1919. The apprenticeship system of nurse training continued until 1923, when a well-organized training program based on a sound and thorough curriculum was established by the newly appointed Instructor of Nurses, Miss Jessie A. Connal. A School of Nursing and residence were built in 1956. After 79 years of service as a training school, the Calgary General Hospital School of Nursing was closed in 1974, having graduated 2,940 nurses [...]
Date(s): 
1867-2007, predominant 1950-1975
Extent: 
6 m of textual records, 255 photographs, 40 lantern slides, 2 film reels
Province: 
AB
Hosting Institution: 
Glenbow Museum
Collection Contact: 
archives@glenbow.org
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Calgary General Hospital School of Nursing

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
M-2048, M-2456, M-9231, PA-1672, NA-1066 […]
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de documents administratifs : politiques, rapports annuels, organigrammes, mémoires et documents, procès-verbaux, dossiers du personnel, rapports des comités, rapports statistiques et formulaires d'inscription et budgets. Il comprend également des documents scolaires : calendriers, évaluations des étudiants, études et plans de cours. Sont inclus des documents relatifs aux affaires étudiantes : procès-verbaux, rapports et états financiers des conseils étudiants, et dossiers des anciens élèves des écoles de nursing. Le fonds contient aussi des coupures de journaux, des albums et des photographies (1897-1967) de résidences d'infirmières, de professeurs, d'étudiants, d'écoles et d'hôpitaux.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
La Calgary General Hospital School of Nursing de Calgary, en Alberta, a vu le jour en 1895 lorsque la première « stagiaire » Marion Moodie a été admise à l'école de formation hospitalière. La première instructrice à temps plein, Mlle B. Rutherford, fut nommée en 1919. Le système d'apprentissage de la formation des infirmières s'est poursuivi jusqu'en 1923, lorsqu'un programme de formation fondé sur un programme d'études solide et complet, a été établi par la nouvelle instructrice des infirmières, Mlle Jessie A. Connal. Une école de soins infirmiers et une résidence ont été construites en 1956. Après 79 ans de service en tant qu'école de formation, l'École des sciences infirmières du Calgary General Hospital a fermé ses portes en 1974, après avoir diplômé 2 940 infirmières [...].
Date(s): 
1867-2007, prédominant 1950-1975
Étendue: 
6 m de documents textuels, 255 photographies, 40 plaques de verre, 2 bobines de film
Province: 
AB
Organisation: 
Musée de Glenbow
Contact: 
archives@glenbow.org
Haut de page