Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Vera Widger and Mary Lamplough fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Graphic material
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
M-6343, PA-2396, PC-202, PC-203, PD-186, NA-4668
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The fonds consists of Vera's certificates, programs, insurance bulletins, Parpass advertisements, and photographs of herself and Dominion Life events; and Mary's certificates, service records, photographs of student nurses (1913), extensive photographs of nursing in France (1915), photographs of the royal visit to the Colonel Belcher Hospital (1951), and views of herself, friends and holidays.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Vera Widger, 1899-1997, was born in South Devon, England. She came to the Cochrane area in 1920 to join her father, who had emigrated to Alberta in 1913. She was a secretary in Calgary, ca. 1922-1941, then joined the Dominion Life Assurance Company as an insurance underwriter. In 1955 she left the insurance business and established Parpass Food Products Ltd., which made Cornish pasties, sausage rolls and meat pies. She closed the business due to health and financial reasons about 1965. Her long-time companion, Mary Edith Gowans Lamplough, 1887-1961, was raised in Quebec and trained as a nurse at the Jeffery Hale Hospital in Quebec City, graduating in 1913. During the First World War she served as a nursing sister with the Canadian Army Medical Corps in France. She then worked at Calgary's Colonel Belcher Hospital from 1920 to 1952.
Date(s): 
1913-1982
Extent: 
6 cm of textual records, 191 photographs
Province: 
AB
Hosting Institution: 
Glenbow Museum
Collection Contact: 
archives@glenbow.org
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Vera Widger et Mary Lamplough

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Document iconographique
Reference : 
M-6343, PA-2396, PC-202, PC-203, PD-186, NA-4668
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué des certificats de Vera, des programmes, des bulletins d'assurance, des publicités Parpass et des photographies d'elle-même et des événements de Dominion Life ; des certificats de Mary, des états de service, des photographies d'étudiantes infirmières (1913), de nombreuses photographies d'infirmières en France (1915), des photographies de la visite royale au Colonel Belcher Hospital (1951). Le fonds inclut des prises de vue de Mary, de ses amis et de ses vacances.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Vera Widger (1899-1997) est née dans le South Devon, en Angleterre. Elle est venue dans la région de Cochrane en 1920 pour rejoindre son père, qui avait émigré en Alberta en 1913. Elle a été secrétaire à Calgary, vers 1922-1941, puis s'est jointe à la Dominion, compagnie d'assurance-vie à titre de tarificatrice. En 1955, elle quitte le secteur de l'assurance et fonde Parpass Food Products Ltd. qui fabrique des pâtisseries, des rouleaux de saucisses et des pâtés à la viande de Cornouailles. Elle a fermé l'entreprise pour des raisons financières et de santé vers 1965. Sa compagne de longue date, Mary Edith Gowans Lamplough, 1887-1961, a grandi au Québec et a reçu sa formation d'infirmière à l'hôpital Jeffery Hale de Québec, où elle a obtenu son diplôme en 1913. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, elle a servi comme infirmière militaire au sein du Corps de santé de l'Armée canadienne en France. Elle a ensuite travaillé à l'hôpital Colonel Belcher de Calgary de 1920 à 1952.
Date(s): 
1913-1982
Étendue: 
6 cm de documents textuels, 191 photographies
Province: 
AB
Organisation: 
Musée de Glenbow
Contact: 
archives@glenbow.org
Haut de page