Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Jean Mackie fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Graphic material
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
M-8637
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The fonds consists of papers and letters to the editor written by Jean Mackie related to nursing; texts from speeches by Jean Mackie; newsclippings about her nursing career; and photographs of nursing students.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Jean Mackie, 1916-1997, was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and moved to Beaverlodge, Alberta with her family in 1928. She received her BA in nursing at McGill University. After nursing and teaching in Edmonton and Medicine Hat, she moved to Calgary in 1954, where she taught at the Calgary General Hospital School of Nursing. She received her MA in Seattle, Washington, USA. A pioneer in the development of nursing training outside hospitals, she was hired by Mount Royal College in Calgary to start a diploma nursing program, which began in 1967. She subsequently set up similar programs in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario and Castlegar, British Columbia. She returned to Calgary in the late 1970s to run the Villa, a women's shelter. She never married, but lived with her close friend, Catherine Broad, for forty years. She died of Alzheimer's at the Bethany Centre
Date(s): 
1963-1979
Extent: 
2 cm of textual records, 3 photographs
Province: 
AB
Hosting Institution: 
Glenbow Museum
Collection Contact: 
archives@glenbow.org
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Jean Mackie

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Document iconographique
Reference : 
M-8637
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de documents et de lettres à l'éditeur rédigés par Jean Mackie au sujet des soins infirmiers, de textes tirés de discours de Jean Mackie, de coupures de journaux sur sa carrière d'infirmière et de photographies d'étudiantes infirmières.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Jean Mackie (1916-1997) est née à Winnipeg (Manitoba) et a déménagé à Beaverlodge (Alberta) avec sa famille en 1928. Elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences infirmières de l'Université McGill. Après avoir enseigné à Edmonton et à Medicine Hat, elle a déménagé à Calgary en 1954, où elle a enseigné à la Calgary General Hospital School of Nursing. Elle a obtenu sa maîtrise à Seattle, Washington, États-Unis. Pionnière dans le développement de la formation en soins infirmiers à l'extérieur des hôpitaux, elle a été embauchée par le Mount Royal College de Calgary pour lancer un programme de diplôme en soins infirmiers, qui a débuté en 1967. Par la suite, elle a mis sur pied des programmes semblables à Sault Ste. Marie, en Ontario, et à Castlegar, en Colombie-Britannique. Elle est retournée à Calgary à la fin des années 1970 pour diriger la Villa, un refuge pour femmes. Elle ne s'est jamais mariée, mais a vécu avec son amie intime, Catherine Broad, pendant quarante ans. Elle est morte d'Alzheimer au Bethany Centre.
Date(s): 
1963-1979
Étendue: 
2 cm de documents textuels, 3 photographies
Province: 
AB
Organisation: 
Musée de Glenbow
Contact: 
archives@glenbow.org
Haut de page