Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Joann L. MacMorran collection

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
M C10
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The collection documents two sections of the career of Joann MacMorran, firstly there are records related to her time in training at the Winnipeg General Hospital School of Nursing and secondly the records reflect her time with the CIDA Project in Guyana.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Joann MacMorran was born in about 1934 and graduated from the Winnipeg General Hospital School of Nursing in 1955 as part of the class of 1955B. After graduation she worked at Winnipeg General Hospital on D flat followed by Riverview as well as hospitals in the U.S.A. and England. She also held positions with the Victorian Order of Nurses and worked as a nurse on the Hudson’s Bay Line. In the mid-1960s she returned to school and graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Nursing Degree in 1965. For the next 6 years she taught Public Health Nursing in the School of Nursing until she was seconded to the Respiratory Centre to supervise treatment programs and travel as a T.B. consultant locally, nationally and internationally. She retired from this position in 2006 and was immediately asked to join the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) Project in Guyana a project which lasted from 2002 until 2007.
Date(s): 
1952-2007
Extent: 
3.5 cm of textual records
Province: 
MB
Hosting Institution: 
Health Sciences Centre Winnipeg
Collection Contact: 
hscarchives@hsc.mb.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Collection Joann L. MacMorran

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
M C10
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
La collection documente deux sections de la carrière de Joann MacMorran : premièrement, il y a des documents relatifs à son temps de formation à la Winnipeg General Hospital School of Nursing et deuxièmement, les documents reflètent son temps passé au sein du projet de l'ACDI en Guyane.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Joann MacMorran est née vers 1934 et a obtenu son diplôme de la Winnipeg General Hospital School of Nursing en 1955 dans le cadre de la promotion 1955B. Après l'obtention de son diplôme, elle a travaillé à l'Hôpital général de Winnipeg, puis à Riverview ainsi qu'à des hôpitaux aux États-Unis et en Angleterre. Elle a également occupé des postes d'infirmières sous l'Ordre de Victoria du Canada et a travaillé comme infirmièrede première ligne à la Baie d'Hudson. Au milieu des années 1960, elle retourne aux études et obtient un baccalauréat en sciences infirmières de l'Université du Manitoba en 1965. Pendant les six années suivantes, elle enseigne les soins infirmiers de santé publique à l'École des sciences infirmières jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit détachée au Centre respiratoire pour superviser des programmes de traitement et voyager à titre de consultante en C.T. à l'échelle locale, nationale et internationale. Elle prend sa retraite en 2006, année au cours de laquelle il lui est demandé de joindre le projet de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) en Guyane. Le projet s'est étendu de 2002 à 2007.
Date(s): 
1952-2007
Étendue: 
3,5 cm de documents textuels
Province: 
MB
Organisation: 
Health Sciences Centre Winnipeg
Contact: 
hscarchives@hsc.mb.ca
Haut de page