Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Margaret Robinson Montgomery Larnder fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Graphic material
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
R-5309-0-3-E
STEM Field: 
Hydrography
Description: 
Fonds consists of the following series: Labrador climate and geography; Baffin Island espedition; ice conditions; Northern transportation; hydrography and Arctic exploration history and reference files [...]
Biography/Administrative History: 
Margaret Montgomery was born in Winnipeg and studied History and French at the University of Manitoba and in Paris, 1932-1934. She taught for a number of years, before coming to Ottawa in 1941 to work for the Civil Service Commission and subsequently in personnel selection for the Canadian Army. After the war she went to McGill University to study Geography with a special emphasis on the Arctic. Her thesis, 'The Climate of Labrador and Its Effect on Settlement' was a pioneering work on this region of Canada. She received her M.A. from McGill in 1949. Margaret Montgomery did work for the Defence Research Board studying ice conditions in Hudson Bay by using RCAF reconnaissance aircraft. In 1950, she took part in a non-government expedition to Baffin Island where she studied its climate. After spending a year at McMaster University, she worked for the Department of National Defence becoming involved in operation research. In 1955, while in Washington, Margaret married Harold Larnder, a Canadian government operational research officer. As a result of marrying another government official, she lost her job. From then onwards she worked on contract for the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys on a variety of projects. Mrs. Larnder wrote the chapter on ice for 'History, Science & Hudson Bay' (1968). She did a variety of editing work as well [...]
Date(s): 
1933-1970
Extent: 
30cm of textual records, 179 photographs : b&w, 68 maps
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
Library and Archives Canada
Collection Contact: 
bac.reference.lac@canada.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Margaret Robinson Montgomery Larnder

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Document iconographique
Reference : 
R-5309-0-3-E
Métiers en STIM: 
Hydrographie
Description: 
Le fonds comprend les séries suivantes: climat et géographie du Labrador; expédition à l'île de Baffin; état des glaces; transports dans le Nord; histoire de l'hydrographie et de l'exploration de l'Arctique; et dossiers de références [...]
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Margaret Montgomery est née à Winnipeg et a étudié l'histoire et le français à l'Université du Manitoba et à Paris, de 1932 à 1934. Elle a enseigné pendant un certain nombre d'années, avant de venir à Ottawa en 1941 pour travailler à la Commission du Service civil, puis à la sélection du personnel de l'Armée canadienne. Après la guerre, elle est allée à l'Université McGill pour étudier la géographie, en particulier l'Arctique. Sa thèse, intitulée « The Climate of Labrador and Its Effect on Settlement » (Le climat du Labrador et ses effets sur la colonie) a été un travail précurseur sur cette région du Canada. Elle a obtenu sa maîtrise de l'Université McGill en 1949. Margaret Montgomery a travaillé pour le Conseil de recherches pour la défense dans l'étude de l'état des glaces dans la baie d'Hudson en utilisant des avions de reconnaissance de l'ARC. En 1950, elle participe à une expédition non gouvernementale à l'île de Baffin dont elle étudie le climat. Après avoir passé un an à l'Université McMaster, elle a travaillé pour le ministère de la Défense nationale et s'est engagée dans la recherche opérationnelle. En 1955, alors qu'elle était à Washington, Margaret a épousé Harold Larnder, un agent de recherche opérationnel du gouvernement canadien. Après avoir épousé un autre fonctionnaire du gouvernement, elle a perdu son emploi. À partir de ce moment, elle a travaillé à contrat pour le ministère des Mines et des Relevés techniques sur divers projets. Mme Larnder a écrit le chapitre sur la glace pour « History, Science & Hudson Bay » (1968) [...]
Date(s): 
1933-1970
Étendue: 
0,30m de documents textuels, 179 de documents photographiques : n&b, 68 cartes
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Contact: 
bac.reference.lac@canada.ca
Haut de page