Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Records of Clara C. Benson in Benson family fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
F 507-23
STEM Field: 
Chemistry
Description: 
Series consists of the personal records of Clara C. Benson; personal correspondence, a scrapbook containing cut-out printed images and note cards, Clara C. Benson's high school certificate, an autograph book, and calling and business cards [...]
Biography/Administrative History: 
Dr. Clara Cynthia Benson (1875-1964), a professor of chemistry at the University of Toronto, was the daughter of Thomas Moore Benson and his second wife, Laura A. (Fuller) Benson. Dr. Benson was the first woman to obtain a B.A. in chemistry from the University of Toronto in 1899, and was one of the first two women to earn a Ph.D. from the University of Toronto in 1903. She joined the faculty of the Lillian Massey School of Domestic Science, and in 1906, she was appointed Associate Professor in the Faculty of Household Science, with a specialization in food chemistry. In 1926, she became a full professor and head of the Department of Food Chemistry, and continued working in the department until her retirement as Professor Emeritus in 1945. A number of honours have been associated with her name, including the naming of the Benson Building (1959) and the Clara C. Benson scholarship (1950) at the University of Toronto, and the Clara Benson Award (1992) of the Canadian Society for Chemistry [...]
Date(s): 
1836, 1856, ca. 1870, 1875, 1906, 1926, [194?], 1959-1960
Extent: 
4.5 cm of textual records, 1 volume of textual records
Province: 
ON
Hosting Institution: 
Archives of Ontario
Collection Contact: 
reference@ontario.ca 
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Documents de Clara C. Benson dans le fonds famille Benson

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
F 507-23
Métiers en STIM: 
Chimie
Description: 
La série comprend les dossiers personnels de Clara C. Benson; de la correspondance personnelle, un album de collage contenant des images imprimées découpées et des cartes de notes, le certificat d'études secondaires de Clara C. Benson, un livre d'autographes et des cartes d'appel et d'affaires [...]
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Clara Cynthia Benson (1875-1964), professeure de chimie à l'Université de Toronto, était la fille de Thomas Moore Benson et de sa deuxième épouse, Laura A. (Fuller) Benson. Dr. Benson a été la première femme à obtenir un baccalauréat en chimie de l'Université de Toronto en 1899 et l'une des deux premières femmes à obtenir un doctorat de l'Université de Toronto en 1903. Elle s'est jointe à la faculté de la Lillian Massey School of Domestic Science et, en 1906, elle a été nommée professeure agrégée à la faculté des sciences domestiques, avec une spécialisation en chimie alimentaire. En 1926, elle est devenue professeure titulaire et chef du Département de chimie alimentaire, et a continué de travailler au département jusqu'à sa retraite à titre de professeure émérite en 1945. Un certain nombre d'honneurs ont été associés à son nom, y compris le nom de l'édifice Benson (1959) et la bourse Clara C. Benson (1950) à l'Université de Toronto, et le prix Clara Benson (1992) de la Société canadienne de chimie [...]
Date(s): 
1836, 1856, ca. 1870, 1875, 1906, 1926, [194?], 1959-1960
Étendue: 
4,5 cm de documents textuels, 1 volume de documents textuels
Province: 
ON
Organisation: 
Archives publique de l'Ontario
Contact: 
reference@ontario.ca 
Haut de page