Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Elinor F. Black fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
MSS 005 PC 003
STEM Field: 
Medicine
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Description: 
The collection consists of correspondence regarding gynaecology in general, the history of the University of Manitoba Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, and proposals regarding the same department at Winnipeg General Hospital.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Elinor Frances Elizabeth Black was born in 1905 in Nelson, British Columbia, and moved to Winnipeg at the age of 12. As a high school student at Kelvin High School and undergraduate student, Black was involved in the United Church’s Canadian Girls In Training, where she met Gertrude Rutherford, an important player in the Student Christian Movement and an advocate of women as professionals. Her friendship with Rutherford and with other women she befriended through the movement continued throughout her life, as seen in the large collection of correspondence in the Elinor Black fonds [...]
Date(s): 
1941-1971
Extent: 
0.13 m of textual records
Province: 
MB
Hosting Institution: 
University of Manitoba
Collection Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Elinor Black

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
MSS 37
Métiers en STIM: 
Médecine
Gynécologie obstétrique
Description: 
La collection comprend de la correspondance sur la gynécologie en général, l'histoire du département d'obstétrique et de gynécologie de l'Université du Manitoba et des propositions concernant le même département au Winnipeg General Hospital.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Elinor Frances Elizabeth Black est née en 1905 à Nelson, en Colombie-Britannique, et a déménagé à Winnipeg à l'âge de 12 ans. Étudiante au secondaire et au premier cycle à l'école Kelvin, Mme Black a participé au programme Canadian Girls In Training de l'Église Unie, où elle a rencontré Gertrude Rutherford, une joueuse importante au sein du mouvement étudiant chrétien et défenseur des femmes comme professionnelles. La vate collection de correspondence témoigne de l'importance de son amitié avec Rutherford et avec d'autres femmes qu'elle rencontra au cours de sa vie [...].
Date(s): 
1912-1982
Étendue: 
1 m de documents textuels, ca. 900 photographies, 1 scrapbook, 1 bague, 1 tampon, 1 sceau, 1 figurine, 4 insignes, 1 médaille
Province: 
MB
Organisation: 
Université de Manitoba
Contact: 
medarch@umanitoba.ca
Haut de page