Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Betty Nordrum fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
MSS 309
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The fonds consists of textual records in the form of published documents, correspondence and working papers reflective of Nordrum’s involvement with women’s organizations and activities. In her capacity as policy analyst and Junior League member, Nordrum participated in a variety of organizations dedicated to addressing issues of gender equality, empowerment, and access. The type of groups and the issues on her agenda were conditioned by events, such as the Meech Lake Accord hearings and the murder of fourteen women in Montreal. Most notably, she was involved in the creation of an organization whose purpose was assisting women enter the political arena.  Overall, the fonds provides some useful insight into the concerns of women in the 1980s and 1990s and their collective attempts to address inequities.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Betty Nordrum graduated from Glenlawn Collegiate in 1964 and went on to work as a registered nurse from 1968 to 1976.  She attained the position of nursing supervisor and worked in that capacity from 1976 to 1987.  Two years later, Nordrum left the nursing profession to work first as a researcher and, in 1990, as a policy analyst for the Manitoba Women’s Advisory Council.  As well, she held a number of positions with the Junior League Organization at the local, national, and international level.  Primarily, Nordrum’s responsibilities consisted of various chair positions and conference developer.  Through this work, Nordrum became something of a self-professed specialist in women’s issues.
Date(s): 
1963-1998
Extent: 
1.5 m of textual records, 45 photographs, 5 video cassettes, 2 computer diskettes
Province: 
MB
Hosting Institution: 
University of Manitoba
Collection Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Betty Nordrum

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
MSS 309
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Le fonds est constitué de documents textuels sous forme de documents publiés, de correspondance et de documents de travail qui témoignent de la participation de Nordrum aux organisations et aux activités des femmes. En sa qualité d'analyste des politiques et de membre de la Junior League, Nordrum a participé à diverses organisations vouées aux questions d'égalité des sexes, d'autonomisation et d'accès.  Le type de groupes et les questions à son ordre du jour ont été conditionnés par des événements comme les audiences de l'Accord du lac Meech et le meurtre de quatorze femmes à Montréal.  Plus particulièrement, elle a participé à la création d'une organisation dont l'objectif était d'aider les femmes à entrer dans l'arène politique.  Dans l'ensemble, le fonds donne un aperçu utile des préoccupations des femmes dans les années 1980 et 1990 et de leurs efforts collectifs pour remédier aux inégalités.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Betty Nordrum a obtenu son diplôme du Glenlawn Collegiate en 1964 et a travaillé comme infirmière autorisée de 1968 à 1976.  Elle a obtenu le poste d'infirmière surveillante et a occupé ce poste de 1976 à 1987. Deux ans plus tard, Nordrum a quitté la profession infirmière pour travailler d'abord comme chercheuse et, en 1990, comme analyste des politiques pour le Manitoba Women's Advisory Council.  De plus, elle a occupé un certain nombre de postes au sein de la Junior League Organization aux niveaux local, national et international. Les responsabilités de Nordrum consistaient principalement à occuper divers postes de présidente et de conceptrice de conférences. Grâce à ce travail, Nordrum est devenue en quelque sorte une spécialiste des questions féminines.
Date(s): 
1963-1998
Étendue: 
1,5 m de documents textuels, 45 photographies, 5 vidéocassettes, 2 disquettes
Province: 
MB
Organisation: 
Université de Manitoba
Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Haut de page