Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Margaret Oliver fonds

Media Type: 
Multiple media
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
MSS 423 
STEM Field: 
Science
Description: 
The fonds contains a scrapbook which covers events during Margaret Oliver's (nee Hammett) academic years from the end of grade 11 (1944) through her second year in a post-graduate laboratory technician program, as well as a few items in the years following (until 1956), most of which took place at the University of Manitoba. There is a trophy for athletic excellence in the Faculty of Science from 1946-1949. The scrapbook also contains Margaret Oliver's Bachelor of Science diploma, and the accompanying folder holds her husband's (Thomas Oliver) Master of Science diploma from the same year (1949), as well as a 100th anniversary page for the University of Manitoba (taken from the Winnipeg Free Press in 1977).
Biography/Administrative History: 
Margaret Oliver was born Margaret Ruth Hammett on 19 December 1927. She attended United College in Winnipeg starting in 1944-45 for her grade 12 program. She continued at United College (an affiliate of the University of Manitoba at the time) within the Science program for her first year of university during the 1945-1946 school year. As a student Oliver was involved in athletics, including volleyball, basketball, and the Varsity Ski Club. Upon graduating from the University of Manitoba in 1949 with a Bachelor of Science degree, Oliver (then Hammett) received an award for academic excellence from the Faculty of Science. During her first year after graduation, Oliver worked as an Assistant Librarian in the Science Library on the University of Manitoba Fort Garry campus. She furthered her studies in the Laboratory Technician program at the University of Manitoba Medical College, during which time Oliver provided technical assistance for a published study on 'The Action of Cortisone and ACTH on Thyroid Function' (by William F. Perry). On 25 September 1954 Margaret Hammet married Thomas Albert Oliver, also a former University of Manitoba Science graduate, and they were married until Dr. T. A. Oliver passed away in October 1997.
Date(s): 
1944-1977
Extent: 
1 scrapbook, 0.04 m textual records, 1 trophy
Province: 
MB
Hosting Institution: 
University of Manitoba
Collection Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Margaret Oliver

Genre de document: 
Supports multiples
Reference : 
MSS 423 
Métiers en STIM: 
Science
Description: 
Le fonds contient un album de coupures qui couvre les événements survenus pendant les années scolaires de Margaret Oliver (née Hammett), de la fin de la 11e année (1944) à sa deuxième année d'études supérieures en technique de laboratoire, ainsi que quelques documents des années suivantes (jusqu'en 1956), dont la plupart ont eu lieu à l'Université du Manitoba. Il y a un trophée pour l'excellence sportive à la Faculté des sciences de 1946 à 1949. L'album contient également le diplôme de baccalauréat en sciences de Margaret Oliver et la chemise qui l'accompagne contient le diplôme de maîtrise en sciences de son mari (Thomas Oliver) de la même année (1949), ainsi qu'une page du 100e anniversaire de l'Université du Manitoba (tiré du Winnipeg Free Press en 1977).
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Margaret Oliver est née Margaret Ruth Hammett le 19 décembre 1927. Elle a fréquenté le United College de Winnipeg à partir de 1944-1945 pour son programme de 12e année. Elle a poursuivi ses études au United College (affilié à l'Université du Manitoba à l'époque) dans le cadre du programme de sciences pendant sa première année universitaire pendant l'année scolaire 1945-1946. En tant qu'étudiant, Oliver était impliqué dans l'athlétisme, y compris le volley-ball, le basket-ball et le club de ski Varsity. Après avoir obtenu son baccalauréat en sciences de l'Université du Manitoba en 1949, Oliver (alors Hammett) a reçu un prix d'excellence académique de la faculté des sciences. Au cours de la première année suivant l'obtention de son diplôme, Oliver a travaillé comme bibliothécaire adjointe à la bibliothèque scientifique du campus de l'Université du Manitoba à Fort Garry. Elle a poursuivi ses études dans le cadre du programme de technicienne de laboratoire du Collège de médecine de l'Université du Manitoba, au cours desquelles Oliver a fourni une assistance technique pour une étude publiée sur « L'action de la cortisone et l'ACTH sur la fonction thyroïdienne » (par William F. Perry). Le 25 septembre 1954, Margaret Hammet épouse Thomas Albert Oliver, également diplômé de l'Université du Manitoba en sciences, et ils se marient jusqu'au décès du Dr T. A. Oliver en octobre 1997.
Date(s): 
1944-1977
Étendue: 
1 scrapbook, 0,04 m de documents textuels, 1 trophée
Province: 
MB
Organisation: 
Université de Manitoba
Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Haut de page