Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Leonore Saunders fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
MSS 276
STEM Field: 
Physiotherapy
Description: 
The fonds contains textual records which pertain to Leonore Saunders’ involvement with the University of Manitoba Faculty Women’s Association and the Medical Faculty Women’s Association/Club, including constitutions from various years in which she was involved, contact lists, and histories of the Association.  In addition, the fonds contains University of Manitoba grants reports, the First International Congress on Group Medicine notes, pamphlets, and conference dinner invitations.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Leonore Saunders came to Canada in 1949 from Manchester, England. Having attained a diploma in physical therapy in England, Saunders was responsible for assisting with the legal process of having physical therapy become a certi­fied occupation in Manitoba. The Physiotherapy Bill 39 became law on March 30, 1957.  She attended the University of Manitoba’s School of Medical Rehabilitation (S.M.R.) and graduated from the program in 1972. Saunders was involved in social activities including the Faculty Women’s Association of the University of Manitoba, of which she was President from 1968 to 1969, and serving as the Chairman of the Medical Faculty Women’s Association/Club in 1970.  Saunders was married to Faculty of Medicine staff member, Dr. Michael G. Saunders, allowing her to represent the medical department in these women’s organizations comprised of faculty members and spouses of faculty members.
Date(s): 
1960-1986
Extent: 
0.02 m of textual records
Province: 
MB
Hosting Institution: 
University of Manitoba
Collection Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Leonore Saunders

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
MSS 276
Métiers en STIM: 
Physiothérapie
Description: 
Le fonds contient des documents textuels qui témoignent de la participation de Leonore Saunders à l'Association des femmes professeures de l'Université du Manitoba et à la Medical Faculty Women's Association/Club, y compris des constitutions de diverses années auxquelles elle a participé, des listes de contacts et l'histoire de cette association.  De plus, le fonds contient des rapports sur les subventions de l'Université du Manitoba, les notes du premier congrès international de médecine de groupe, des brochures et des invitations à des dîners-conférences.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Leonore Saunders est arrivée au Canada en 1949 en provenance de Manchester, en Angleterre. Ayant obtenu un diplôme en physiothérapie en Angleterre, Saunders était chargée d'aider au processus juridique pour que la physiothérapie devienne une profession reconnue au Manitoba. Le projet de loi 39 sur la physiothérapie est entré en vigueur le 30 mars 1957.  Elle a fréquenté la School of Medical Rehabilitation (S.M.R.) de l'Université du Manitoba et a terminé le programme en 1972. Mme Saunders a participé à des activités sociales, notamment à la Faculty Women's Association de l'Université du Manitoba, dont elle a été présidente de 1968 à 1969, et a été présidente de la Medical Faculty Women's Association/Club en 1970.  Mme Saunders a épousé le Dr Michael G. Saunders, membre du personnel de la Faculté de médecine, ce qui lui a permis de représenter le département médical au sein de ces organisations de femmes composées de membres du corps professoral et de leurs conjoints.
Date(s): 
1960-1986
Étendue: 
0,02 m de documents textuels
Province: 
MB
Organisation: 
Université de Manitoba
Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Haut de page