Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Betty Havens fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
MSS 238
STEM Field: 
Gerontology
Description: 
Accession A.06-02 of the fonds consists of seven series. They include biographical and academic material, correspondence, articles, conferences, grants, committees, and Aging in Manitoba Study. Accession A.07-61 of the fonds consists of twelve series. They include biographical material, correspondence, education, publications and presented papers, conferences, grant proposals, committees, Aging in Manitoba, research material, a photograph collection, awards, and a 3.5 inch floppy disk. An award plaque accompanies the awards series.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Betty Havens was born October 9, 1936. She obtained a B.A. from Milwaukee-Downer College in 1958 and an M.A. in Sociology from the University of Wisconsin in 1965. From 1972 to 1982, she served in the position of Research Director with Manitoba Health. She initiated the Manitoba Longitudinal Study of Aging in 1971 that is still being used by researchers today. From 1982 until 1994, Havens acted as Provincial Gerontologist for Manitoba Health. From 1990 until 1994, she was Assistant Deputy Minister for Manitoba Health. In 1992, Havens was Associate Professor in the Department of Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. From 1992 until her death in 2005, Havens was Research Associate for the Centre for Health Policy and Evaluation, University of Manitoba. Concurrently, she was Professional Associate, Centre on Aging. In 1994, Havens became Professor in the Department of Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba, a position she held until her death in 2005. Havens wrote numerous articles throughout her career and was the recipient of several awards and distinctions including the YWCA Professional Woman of the Year [...]
Date(s): 
1961-2005
Extent: 
8.5 m of textual records and other material
Province: 
MB
Hosting Institution: 
University of Manitoba
Collection Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Betty Havens

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Reference : 
MSS 238
Métiers en STIM: 
Grontologie
Description: 
Le numéro d'entrée A.06-02 du fonds comprend sept séries. Il contient des documents biographiques et scolaires, de la correspondance, des articles, des conférences, des subventions, des comités et des études sur le vieillissement au Manitoba. Le numéro d'entrée A.07-61 pour le comprend douze séries. Il s'agit de documents biographiques, de correspondance, de documents relatifs à l'éducation, des publications et des articles présentés, de conférences, de demandes de subvention, de comités, de documents de recherche, d'une collection de photographies, de prix et d'une disquette de 3,5 pouces. Une plaque commémorative est comprise dans la série et accompagne un prix reçu.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Betty Havens est née le 9 octobre 1936. Elle a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts du Milwaukee-Downer College en 1958 et une maîtrise en sociologie de l'Université du Wisconsin en 1965. De 1972 à 1982, elle a occupé le poste de directrice de la recherche à Santé Manitoba. Elle a lancé l'Étude longitudinale sur le vieillissement du Manitoba en 1971, qui est toujours utilisée par les chercheurs aujourd'hui. De 1982 à 1994, Havens a agi à titre de gérontologue provincial pour Santé Manitoba. De 1990 à 1994, elle a été sous-ministre adjointe à Santé Manitoba. En 1992, Mme Havens était professeure agrégée au Département des sciences de la santé communautaire de l'Université du Manitoba. De 1992 jusqu'à son décès en 2005, Mme Havens a été associée de recherche au Centre for Health Policy and Evaluation de l'Université du Manitoba. Parallèlement, elle a été associée professionnelle au Centre on Aging. En 1994, Mme Havens est devenue professeure au Département des sciences de la santé communautaire de l'Université du Manitoba, poste qu'elle a occupé jusqu'à sa mort en 2005. Mme Havens a écrit de nombreux articles tout au long de sa carrière et a reçu plusieurs prix et distinctions, dont le prix de la Femme professionnelle de l'année du YWCA [...]
Date(s): 
1961-2005
Étendue: 
8,5 m de documents textuels et autres matériaux
Province: 
MB
Organisation: 
Université de Manitoba
Contact: 
archives@umanitoba.ca 
Haut de page