Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Joyce Nevitt collection

Media Type: 
Textual record
Graphic material
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
COLL-177
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
This collection consists of the papers of Joyce Nevitt, first director of Memorial University's School of Nursing (1965-73). A large part of this collection represents her work in organizing the School of Nursing and the establishment of a baccalaureate degree program. It includes administrative records, correspondence, reports and research material. The collection also includes research material for her book, White Caps and Black Bands: A History of Nursing in Newfoundland to 1934 which was published in 1978 and includes historical research, photographs, and correspondence.There is a small of material relating to her volunteer activities and includes newsletters, lecture notes. minutes of meetings. This collection offers the researcher insight into the medical and nursing history of Newfoundland and Labrador, the history of Memorial University's School of Nursing as well as providing a notable collection of photographs of nurses and hospitals in Newfoundland and Labrador.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Joyce Nevitt (1918-1998), nurse, educator, and writer, was born in Cranbrook, Kent, England on 18 November 1916. Nevitt died of heart disease 10 November 1998. Nevitt spent her early years in Jamaica, but returned to England where she received her nurses' training at the Fulham Hospital in London, and worked as a nurse at the London's Royal National Ear, Nose and Throat Hospital and obtained a certificate in that specialty before coming to Canada in June 1946. She moved to Hamilton, Ontario where she attended McMaster University and completed a Bachelor of Science Degree in Nursing. She then University of Toronto where she studied public health nursing, a field of nursing which she favoured throughout her nursing career. During the early 1950s, Nevitt worked at a variety of nursing jobs: head nurse at the Toronto Western Hospital in 1949; with the Victorian Order of Nurses in Toronto in 1951; public health nurse with the Department of Health in Georgetown, Halton County and established the rural public health service in Tarantorus near Sault Ste. Marie in 1957. In 1958 The Canadian Nurse, a national nurses' magazine, offered Nevitt the position of editor of the magazine but she turned it down in order to accept a teaching position at the University of Western Ontario. This marked the beginning of a long and distinguished career in teaching. From 1958 to 1962 she taught public health nursing at the University of Western Ontario [...]
Date(s): 
1934-1998
Extent: 
3.6 m
Province: 
NL
Hosting Institution: 
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Collection Contact: 
archives@mun.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Collection Joyce Nevitt

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Document iconographique
Reference : 
COLL-177
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Cette collection comprend les documents de Joyce Nevitt, première directrice de Memorial École des sciences infirmières de l'Université (1965-1963). Une grande partie de cette collection la représente. travailler à l'organisation de l'École des sciences infirmières et à la création d'un baccalauréat programme. Il comprend les dossiers administratifs, la correspondance, les rapports et les documents de recherche. La collection comprend également des documents de recherche pour son livre White Caps and Black Bands : A History of Nursing in Newfoundland to 1934 qui a été publié en 1978 et qui comprend ce qui suit Il y a un petit nombre de documents relatifs à la recherche historique, aux photographies et à la correspondance. à ses activités bénévoles et comprend des bulletins d'information, des notes de cours et des procès-verbaux de réunions. Cette collection offre au chercheur un aperçu de l'histoire médicale et infirmière de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, de l'histoire de l'École des sciences infirmières de l'Université Memorial ainsi qu'une collection remarquable de photographies d'infirmières et d'infirmiers et d'infirmières de l à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Joyce Nevitt (1918-1998), infirmière, éducatrice et écrivaine, est née à Cranbrook, Kent, Angleterre, le 18 novembre 1916. Nevitt est décédé d'une maladie cardiaque le 10 novembre 1998. Nevitt a passé ses premières années en Jamaïque, mais est retournée en Angleterre où elle a reçu sa formation d'infirmière à l'Université de Fulham. à Londres, et a travaillé comme infirmière au Royal National Ear, Nose and Throat Hospital de Londres, où elle a obtenu un diplôme d'infirmière. dans cette spécialité avant de venir au Canada en juin 1946. Elle a déménagé à Hamilton, en Ontario, où elle a assisté à la conférence de l McMaster University et a obtenu un baccalauréat ès sciences en sciences infirmières. Elle a ensuite étudié à l'Université de Toronto, où elle a obtenu son doctorat. a étudié les soins infirmiers en santé publique, un domaine qu'elle a privilégié tout au long de sa carrière d'infirmière. Au début des années Dans les années 1950, Nevitt a occupé divers postes d'infirmière : infirmière en chef à l'Hôpital Toronto Western en 1949 ; infirmière-chef à l'Hôpital Victorien de l'Université d'Ottawa en 1949. Infirmières de l'Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers de l'Ontario à Toronto en 1951 ; infirmière en santé publique au ministère de la Santé à Georgetown, dans le comté de Halton, et a établi le service de santé publique rurale à Tarantorus près de Sault Ste-Marie en 1957. En 1958, The Canadian Nurse, un magazine national d'infirmières, offre à Nevitt le poste de rédactrice en chef du magazine, mais elle le refuse afin d'accepter un poste d'enseignante à l'Université Western Ontario. C'est le début d'une longue et brillante carrière dans l'enseignement. De 1958 à 1962, elle a enseigné les soins infirmiers en santé publique à l'Université de Western Ontario [...]
Date(s): 
1934-1998
Étendue: 
3.6 m
Province: 
NL
Organisation: 
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Contact: 
archives@mun.ca
Haut de page