Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Mary Southcott collection

Media Type: 
Textual record
Graphic material
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
COLL-190
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
This collection consists of handwritten essays and notes, and photographs by Mary Southcott, founder of the St. John's General Hospital School of Nursing. The essays and notes are about the pioneering days of nursing. There are essays about Florence Nightingale's work at Scutari and in England as well as descriptions of nursing in Newfoundland, both at the General Hospital in St. John's, and the tuberculosis camp. Some of her essays were published in British nursing journals. Internal evidence also indicates that Southcott was the Newfoundland correspondent for The Nursing Times for a number of years. Southcott was a keen amateur photographer. The photographs include pictures taken at the General Hospital, at the Waterford Hall convalescent hospital for soldiers during the first World War, and while on vacation in Newfoundland and Ontario. Many of these photographs are identified by comments written on the back by Southcott; however some are not. Although a small collection, these papers provide insight into the beliefs and attitudes of one of the most influential leaders in the history of nursing in Newfoundland.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Mary Meager Southcott was born at 56 Prescott Street in St. John's on September 21, 1862, the eldest of three daughters of Pamela and John Southcott who had emigrated to Newfoundland from Exeter, England. Mary had two sisters, Agnes who married Rev. William Netten, and Annie who married Frederick Parnell. Their father was a successful architect and builder who was in partnership with his brother, James T. Southcott in the firm of J.and J.T. Southcott. Mary Southcott was baptized in the Church of England Cathedral by Bishop Edward Feild and educated at Jersey Lodge, a Church of England girls' school on King's Bridge Road in St. John's. By 1897 both her parents had died and Mary Southcott had inherited her father's share of the Southcott business. Little is known of Mary Southcott's life before she decided to become a nurse. She had a keen interest in botany and throughout her life explored the countryside around St. John's making drawings of the local flora. Watercolours painted by Southcott still survive in private collections. It was through her interest in wildflowers and her involvement with the Church of England community that Southcott became acquainted with Rev. Arthur Waghorne (1851-1900). Waghorne was born in England and was educated at St. Augustin's College, Canterbury. He came to Newfoundland in 1875 as a missionary for the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel and remained for 25 years. In a letter written to a friend on 24 August 1888, Waghorne announced that he had become engaged to Mary Southcott who had been helping him with his botanical work [...]
Date(s): 
1907-1930s
Extent: 
30 cm and photographs
Province: 
NL
Hosting Institution: 
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Collection Contact: 
archives@mun.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Collection Mary Southcott

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Document iconographique
Reference : 
COLL-190
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Cette collection se compose d'essais et de notes manuscrits et de photographies de Mary Southcott, fondatrice de la St. John's General Hospital School of Nursing. Les essais et les notes portent sur l'époque pionnière des soins infirmiers. On y trouve des essais sur le travail de Florence Nightingale à Scutari et en Angleterre, ainsi que des descriptions des soins infirmiers à Terre-Neuve, tant à l'Hôpital général de St. John's qu'au camp de la tuberculose. Certains de ses essais ont été publiés dans des revues infirmières britanniques. Des données internes indiquent également que Southcott a été la correspondante de Terre-Neuve pour The Nursing Times pendant un certain nombre d'années. Southcott était un photographe amateur passionné. Les photographies comprennent des photos prises à l'Hôpital général, à l'hôpital de convalescence Waterford Hall pour les soldats pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et pendant leurs vacances à Terre-Neuve et en Ontario. Bon nombre de ces photographies sont identifiées par des commentaires écrits au verso par Southcott, mais certaines ne le sont pas. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une petite collection, ces documents donnent un aperçu des croyances et des attitudes de l'un des leaders les plus influents de l'histoire des soins infirmiers à Terre-Neuve.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Mary Meager Southcott est née le 21 septembre 1862 au 56, rue Prescott à St. John's, l'aînée des trois filles de Pamela et John Southcott qui avaient émigré d'Exeter à Terre-Neuve. Mary avait deux soeurs, Agnes qui a épousé le révérend William Netten, et Annie qui a épousé Frederick Parnell. Leur père était un architecte et constructeur prospère qui était associé avec son frère, James T. Southcott, dans le cabinet de J. et J. T. Southcott. Mary Southcott a été baptisée dans la cathédrale de l'Église d'Angleterre par l'évêque Edward Feild et a fait ses études à Jersey Lodge, une école de filles de l'Église d'Angleterre sur King's Bridge Road à St. John's. En 1897, ses deux parents sont décédés et Mary Southcott a hérité de la part de son père dans l'entreprise Southcott. On sait peu de choses de la vie de Mary Southcott avant qu'elle ne décide de devenir infirmière. Elle s'intéressait beaucoup à la botanique. tout au long de sa vie, elle a exploré la campagne autour de St. John's en faisant des dessins de la flore locale. Aquarelles peintes par Southcott survivent encore dans des collections privées. C'est grâce à son intérêt pour les fleurs sauvages et à sa participation aux activités de l la communauté de l'Église d'Angleterre que Southcott a fait la connaissance du révérend Arthur Waghorne (1851-1900). Waghorne est né en Angleterre et a fait ses études au St. Augustin's College, Canterbury. Il est venu à Terre-Neuve en 1875 comme missionnaire pour la Society for the Propagation of the Gospel et y est resté pendant 25 ans. Dans une lettre écrite à un ami le 24 août 1888, Waghorne annonça qu'il s'était fiancé à Mary Southcott qui l'avait aidé dans son travail botanique [...]
Date(s): 
1907-1930s
Étendue: 
30 cm et photographies
Province: 
NL
Organisation: 
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Contact: 
archives@mun.ca
Haut de page