Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Florence Miller fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Graphic material
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
COLL-016
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Description: 
The papers of Florence Miller (1889-1979) consist primarily of daily diaries and poetry written by Miller at her home in Topsail, Newfoundland, covering the years 1928 to 1979. In addition there is a large number of short verses that she wrote and submitted to greeting card companies, such as the Hallmark Company, for which she was paid. There are short stories, local histories and genealogical material, a few photographs, as well as one play that Miller wrote that was broadcast in 1925 on a radio station in Pittsburg. There is a small amount of material relating to the United Church in Topsail, the church she and her family faithfully attended during their lifetime. There is a significant collection of correspondence with a variety of people, including her good friend and fellow Newfoundland poet, Edwin Duder. And finally, although not directly related, there are articles written by Mary MacNeill-Duder, the wife of Edwin Duder. These were published in the 'The Lure of the Litchfield Hills', a semi annual magazine that was set in Litchfield, Connecticut. Mary MacNeill-Duder was born in St. John's, Newfoundland.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Florence Miller was born in Topsail on July 8, 1889, the fourth of five children of Emma (Allen) and Joseph Miller. The Miller and Allen families were early settlers of this Conception Bay community. Robert Miller, Florence's grandfather, operated what is believed to be the first inn in Conception Bay. His son, Florence's father, was a self-taught surveyor who was employed with the Anglo-American Telegraph Company and served as their overseer of lines throughout Newfoundland. James Allen, Florence's maternal grandfather, was a schoolteacher in Topsail for many years. Both families were devoted Methodists and both grandfathers were lay readers in the Methodist Church (later United Church) at Topsail. Florence and her siblings attended the local Methodist school. They grew up during a time when Topsail was becoming the fashionable summer resort of St. John's families. Florence, after completing the Council of Higher Education (CHE) examinations in 1907, went to work as government telegraph operator in Topsail. In 1928 she was also appointed postmistress. She retired in 1942 after having worked for the government for over 34 years. An interesting item in the collection is her membership in the Commercial Telegraphers' Union, headquartered in Chicago, but with a local at Grand Falls [...]
Date(s): 
1900-1979
Extent: 
144 cm
Province: 
NL
Hosting Institution: 
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Collection Contact: 
archives@mun.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Florence Miller

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Document iconographique
Reference : 
COLL-016
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Description: 
Les papiers de Florence Miller (1889-1979) se composent principalement de journaux intimes quotidiens et de poèmes écrits par Miller à son domicile à Topsail, Terre-Neuve, couvrant les années 1928 à 1979. En outre, il ya un grand nombre de courts versets qu'elle a écrit et soumis à des sociétés de cartes de vœux, tels que la Hallmark Company, pour laquelle elle a été payée. Il y a des nouvelles, des histoires locales et du matériel généalogique, quelques photographies, ainsi qu'une pièce de théâtre écrite par Miller qui a été diffusée en 1925 sur une station de radio à Pittsburg. Il y a une petite quantité de documents concernant l'Église unie de Topsail, l'église qu'elle et sa famille ont fréquentée fidèlement au cours de leur vie. Il y a une importante collection de correspondance avec diverses personnes, dont son bon ami et collègue poète terre-neuvien Edwin Duder. Enfin, bien qu'ils ne soient pas directement liés, certains articles ont été écrits par Mary MacNeill-Duder, l'épouse d'Edwin Duder. Ceux-ci ont été publiés dans 'The Lure of the Litchfield Hills', un magazine semestriel qui se déroule à Litchfield, Connecticut. Mary MacNeill-Duder est née à St. John's, Terre-Neuve.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Florence Miller est née à Topsail le 8 juillet 1889, quatrième de cinq enfants d'Emma (Allen) et Joseph Miller. Les familles Miller et Allen ont été les premiers colons de cette communauté de la baie de la Conception. Robert Miller, le grand-père de Florence, exploitait ce que l'on croit être la première auberge de la baie de la Conception. Son fils, le père de Florence, était un arpenteur-géomètre autodidacte qui travaillait pour l'Anglo-American Telegraph Company et était leur superviseur des lignes à Terre-Neuve. James Allen, le grand-père maternel de Florence, a été instituteur à Topsail pendant de nombreuses années. Les deux familles étaient des méthodistes dévoués et les deux grands-pères étaient des lecteurs laïcs dans l'église méthodiste (plus tard l'Église unie) à Topsail. Florence et ses frères et sœurs fréquentaient l'école méthodiste locale. Ils ont grandi à une époque où Topsail devenait la station estivale à la mode des familles de St. John's. Florence, après avoir terminé le Conseil de l'enseignement supérieur (CHE) examens en 1907, a commencé à travailler comme opérateur télégraphique du gouvernement à Topsail. En 1928, elle est également nommée maîtresse de poste. Elle a pris sa retraite en 1942 après avoir travaillé pour le gouvernement pendant plus de 34 ans. Un élément intéressant de la collection est son adhésion au Commercial Telegraphers' Union, dont le siège social est à Chicago, mais dont la section locale est située à Grand-Sault [...]
Date(s): 
1900-1979
Étendue: 
144 cm
Province: 
NL
Organisation: 
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Contact: 
archives@mun.ca
Haut de page