Important Changes at the Library this Fall
Since most of our buildings are closed, some in-person Library services or resources described on this page are currently unavailable. For more details on how the Library can help this semester, check out our services updates or feel free to email us, chat with us, or reach out to a librarian or specialist in your discipline.
Information

Mina Hubbard fonds

Media Type: 
Textual record
Graphic material
Object
Call Number / Archival Reference Number: 
COLL-241
STEM Field: 
Nursing
Geography
Description: 
This fonds consists of the personal papers of Mina Hubbard. It includes personal documents (birth certificate and passports); personal correspondence; a diary kept by Leonidas Hubbard, Jr., her husband, on his fatal expedition into the Labrador interiorin 1903 and diaries kept by herself and George Elson, her native guide, on their expedition to Labrador in 1905; an incomplete manuscript that appears to be a religious treatise; newspaper reviews of her book, A Woman's Way Through Unknown Labrador; material (review and program) pertaining to her lectures in 1936; general invitations; photographs of her expedition to Labrador, her family, and herself; and variousmiscellaneous items (a portrait of Mina and a locket and compass that she carried on her Labrador expedition). This collection would be of interest to researchers of the history of Labrador exploration and to those interested in the life and writings of Mina Hubbard. Furthermore, the collection would be of value to students of exploration and adventure writing as a genre in the early decades of the twentieth century.
Biography/Administrative History: 
Mina Benson Hubbard Ellis was born on April 15, 1870 in Hamilton Township, Ontario on a farm near the small town of Bewdley on Rice Lake. She was the seventh of eight children born to James Benson and Jane Wood, immigrants originally from County Cavan, Ireland and Yorkshire, England, whose families emigrated to Hamilton Township in the 1840s after the area was opened for agricultural development. Although Mina's parents built up a 100-acre farm, they struggled financially as their land proved to be rather poor. However, her family persevered and were active members of their community. Mina attended a one-room school not far from her home, high school in Cobourg, and later became a schoolteacher, briefly, at Glourourim, a local school. Leaving the teaching profession, she moved to New York where she attended the Brooklyn Training School for Nurses, graduating in 1899. In May 1900, she met Leonidas Hubbard Jr., a journalist, while nursing him through typhoid fever in the Staten Island Hospital. They were married on January 31, 1901 in a small church in New York City [...]
Date(s): 
1870-1954
Extent: 
5 cm of textual material, 40 photographs, 22 negatives, 1 portrait of Mina Hubbard, 1 compass and 1 locket
Province: 
NL
Hosting Institution: 
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Collection Contact: 
archives@mun.ca
Back to top

Changements importants à la Bibliothèque cet automne
Comme la plupart des espaces de la Bibliothèque sont fermés, certains services ou ressources décrits sur cette page ne sont pas disponibles actuellement. Pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Bibliothèque peut vous aider ce trimestre, veuillez consulter notre page des mises à jour des services et n'hésitez pas à nous envoyer un courriel, à clavarder avec nous ou à contacter le ou la bibliothécaire ou spécialiste de votre discipline.
Information

Fonds Mina Hubbard

Genre de document: 
Document textuel
Document iconographique
Objet
Reference : 
COLL-241
Métiers en STIM: 
Soin infirmier
Géographie
Description: 
Ce fonds est constitué des papiers personnels de Mina Hubbard. Il comprend les (certificat de naissance et passeports) ; correspondance personnelle ; journal intime tenu par le Leonidas Hubbard, Jr, son mari, lors de son expédition fatale dans l'intérieur du Labrador.en 1903 et des journaux intimes tenus par elle-même et George Elson, son guide autochtone, sur leur expédition au Labrador en 1905 ; manuscrit incomplet qui semble être un manuscrit religieux. comptes rendus dans les journaux de son livre A Woman's Way Through Unknown Labrador (A Woman's Way Through Unknown Labrador) ; matériel (revue et programme) relatif à ses conférences en 1936 ; invitations générales ; des photos de son expédition au Labrador, de sa famille et d'elle-même, ainsi que diverses photos de l'équipage de l'avion.divers objets (un portrait de Mina et un médaillon et une boussole qu'elle portait sur elle) expédition au Labrador). Cette collection intéresserait les chercheurs de l'histoire de l'humanité. de l'exploration du Labrador et à tous ceux qui s'intéressent à la vie et aux écrits de Mina Hubbard. De plus, la collection serait d'une grande valeur pour les étudiants des programmes d'exploration et d'enseignement de l'anglais et du français. l'écriture d'aventures comme genre dans les premières décennies du XXe siècle.
Biographie / Histoire administrative: 
Mina Benson Hubbard Ellis est née le 15 avril 1870 dans le canton de Hamilton, en Ontario, sur une ferme près de la petite ville de Bewdley au lac Rice. Elle était la septième de huit enfants nés de James Benson et Jane Wood, immigrants originaires du comté de Cavan, en Irlande et du Yorkshire, en Angleterre, dont les familles ont émigré dans le canton de Hamilton dans les années 1840 après l'ouverture de la région pour le développement agricole. Bien que les parents de Mina aient construit une ferme de 100 acres, ils ont éprouvé des difficultés financières parce que leurs terres se sont avérées plutôt pauvres. Cependant, sa famille a persévéré et a été un membre actif de sa communauté. Mina a fréquenté une école à classe unique non loin de chez elle, une école secondaire à Cobourg, puis elle est devenue institutrice, brièvement, à Glourourim, une école locale. Après avoir quitté la profession d'enseignante, elle s'installe à New York où elle fréquente la Brooklyn Training School for Nurses et obtient son diplôme en 1899. En mai 1900, elle rencontre Leonidas Hubbard Jr, journaliste, alors qu'elle le soigne contre la fièvre typhoïde à l'hôpital de Staten Island. Ils se sont mariés le 31 janvier 1901 dans une petite église de New York [...]
Date(s): 
1870-1954
Étendue: 
5 cm de documents textuels, 40 photographies, 22 négatifs, 1 portrait de Mina Hubbard, 1 boussole et 1 médaillon
Province: 
NL
Organisation: 
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Contact: 
archives@mun.ca
Haut de page